Dalarna County · SE3

Smedjebacken

EcoDataCenter’s 25 August 2026 Swedish notice describes an option for 52 hectares at Röbacken, with permits expected in 2027 and first operation expected in 2029. The executive board recommended an option-and-lease transaction to the council on 8 September. The council calendar lists a 21 September meeting, but its outcome was not verifiable in the published protocol index reviewed on 22 September. A 2025 municipal record says 150 MW could be made available for delivery in 2028–2030; the operator’s English “immediate 150MW” wording still lacks a defined IT/facility boundary. No completed land transfer, permit or site connection contract is confirmed here.

Röbacken is a planned development in Smedjebacken, not an operating campus. The two EcoDataCenter notices dated 25 August 2026 agree on 52 hectares but do not use the same wording for the land arrangement. The Swedish notice says option agreement; the English one says agreement for the purchase of land. On 8 September 2026 the municipal executive board recommended that the council approve an option to acquire the land through a newly formed municipal company, together with a lease of 6.5 hectares. That is a documented step toward an agreement, not a completed sale or council approval.

The Swedish notice places building and environmental permits in the expected 2027 path and gives 2029 as the expected first operating year. These are company expectations. This record contains no permit, startbesked, construction notice or completed sale document. An announced path is useful for a first conversation, but it should not be presented as a site ready to build.

The English notice adds the sentence “green light of an immediate 150MW” and a credible opportunity to expand. The Swedish notice does not include it. A 2025 municipal executive-board minute provides related but earlier context: the revised letter of intent recorded positive power-availability information from Svenska kraftnät and Vattenfall for 150 MW, with possible delivery in 2028–2030. The wording does not establish that an active site connection is in place now, nor does it say whether 150 MW means IT load, facility load or another boundary. The figure stays out of comparable campus-capacity totals.

The operator says it will work with the municipality and relevant parties on regional electricity production and projects to capture and use residual heat. These are stated areas of cooperation. The notices do not publish a signed heat-offtake agreement, volumes, temperatures, named network works or energisation dates. No coordinates for the exact project parcel are inferred from the municipal name.

The next evidence steps are to verify the outcome of the 21 September council meeting once an official minute is posted, then review the signed option, share-transfer and lease documents, the detailed plan covering the parcel, the environmental and building-permit file, and written network-owner correspondence. A reader should ask which company holds the option, what land the 6.5-hectare lease covers, whether it has been exercised, and what boundary the 150 MW sentence is intended to describe.

Smedjebacken is distinct from EcoDataCenter’s Falun and Borlänge records. The operator calls it a third Swedish campus in Dalarna, but a reported proposal does not create current operating megawatts. It cannot be added to Falun’s dated capacity rows or Borlänge’s development record.

Documented projects in the register

Questions for a concrete establishment

  • What does the executed land agreement say: option, reservation or completed sale?
  • Which municipal decision and detailed plan cover the Röbacken parcel?
  • What does the English-only 150 MW sentence measure, and who has confirmed it?
  • Has a permit or construction start been documented?
  • Which network owner has issued a written connection position?
  • Is residual heat planned, contracted or being delivered?

Sources

  1. EcoDataCenter establishes itself in Smedjebacken Municipality EcoDataCenter, 2026-08-25. Checked 2026-09-22.
  2. EcoDataCenter to establish third datacenter campus in Sweden EcoDataCenter, 2026-08-25. Checked 2026-09-22.
  3. Municipal executive board minutes, 8 September 2026, § 109 Smedjebacken Municipality, 2026-09-08. Checked 2026-09-22.
  4. Municipal council meeting schedule and protocols Smedjebacken Municipality (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-23.
  5. Published municipal council minutes Smedjebacken Municipality (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-23.
  6. Municipal executive board minutes, 8 April 2025, § 64 Smedjebacken Municipality, 2025-04-08. Checked 2026-09-22.
  7. Electricity bidding areas Energimarknadsinspektionen, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
  8. Detailed development plans Boverket, 2024-10-17. Checked 2026-09-10.