Torsås · Kalmar County
SunSpark data centre, Torsås (Söderåkra)
Proposed data centre of about 10,000 square metres on the property Övraby 1:98 in Söderåkra, Torsås municipality, Kalmar County. On 24 March 2026 the municipal executive committee gave SunSpark Nordic AB a positive planning decision and told the head of building and environment to sign a plan-cost agreement (item 74, case 2026/000064). The site is 2.6 hectares of pasture. According to the minutes, the company wants to link the data centre with solar power and district heating. No power capacity is given.
Fact box
- Actor
- Status
- Proposed
- Municipality / county
- Torsås · Kalmar County
- Last checked
- 2026-10-27
- Location accuracy
- District
Phases
Capacity disclosure
IT power
Not stated in the cited sources
IT power · current · 2026 · announced · campus
Unclear / conflictingAs of 2026-10-27 · Torsås kommun
Planning and grid
Positive planning decision by the municipal executive committee on 24 March 2026 (item 74, case 2026/000064); minutes posted 26 March to 17 April. The detailed plan is to be drawn up by a planning consultant at the applicant's expense. Five studies are named, including a siting study for farmland. On 7 September 2026 the municipality registered new site proposals from the company; they are not published.
No capacity, grid connection or connection date is given. The minutes say connection to district heating and municipal water and sewage at Pårydsvägen is possible.
Updates
2026-03-24
Torsås executive committee grants SunSpark a positive planning decision
The municipal executive committee granted a positive planning decision for a data centre of about 10,000 square metres on Övraby 1:98 in Söderåkra and told the head of building and environment to sign a plan-cost agreement with SunSpark Nordic AB (item 74, case 2026/000064).
Context
- County: Kalmar County
- Municipality: Torsås
More projects in Kalmar County
- Magnora data centre, Hultsfred (Nyhagen) — Proposed
Related news
Knowledge gaps
- No IT load, grid capacity or connection date is given in the municipal documents.
- Investment size and timetable are not disclosed.
- The September site proposals (4.5 and 15.2 hectares in their titles) are not published.
- Whether a plan-cost agreement has been signed is not known.
Sources
- Minutes extract, Torsås municipal executive committee, 24 March 2026 (item 74, case 2026/000064) — Torsås kommun, 2026-03-26. Checked 2026-10-27.
- Minutes extract, Torsås executive committee's working committee, 10 March 2026 (item 46, case 2026/000064) — Torsås kommun, 2026-03-12. Checked 2026-10-27.
- Torsås municipal register, case 2026/000064: Planning decision Övraby 1:98, SunSpark Nordic AB — Torsås kommun (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-10-27.