Smedjebacken · Dalarna County · SE3
EcoDataCenter Smedjebacken
EcoDataCenter announced a planned third Dalarna campus at Röbacken on 25 August 2026. On 8 September the municipal executive board recommended an option-and-lease transaction to the council. The council calendar lists a 21 September meeting, but no minutes from it were available in the published protocol index reviewed on 22 September, so its outcome is unverified here. A 2025 municipal minute records 150 MW could be made available for delivery in 2028–2030; this gives context for the operator’s English 150 MW statement but is not a current site connection contract or defined IT-load metric.
Fact box
- Actor
- EcoDataCenter
- Last checked
- 2026-09-22
- Location accuracy
- municipality · Approximate location
Röbacken industrial area in Smedjebacken Municipality; no parcel-level project coordinate is published in the cited notices.
Phases
- Röbacken campus proposal — Announced
Capacity disclosure
Announced capacity (definition unclear)
Conflicting figures
Announced capacity (definition unclear) · unclear / unclassified · 2026 · announced · campus
Unclear / conflictingAs of 2026-08-25 · EcoDataCenter
The English notice contains this wording; the Swedish notice does not define a capacity figure. A 2025 municipal minute independently reports 150 MW as power that could be made available for delivery in 2028–2030. Neither source set defines the figure as IT load, facility load or a current site connection entitlement, so it remains an unclear capacity observation.
“green light of an immediate 150MW”
Planning and grid
The 8 September 2026 municipal executive-board minute recommends an option to acquire land via a municipal company and a 6.5-hectare lease. The council calendar lists a 21 September meeting, but no resulting minute was available in the published protocol index reviewed on 22 September. The Swedish operator notice says building and environmental permits were expected during 2027. No final land transfer or permit is recorded here.
The English operator notice says 150 MW has an immediate green light, but does not define its boundary. A 2025 Smedjebacken municipal minute records a positive power-availability message from Svenska kraftnät and Vattenfall for 150 MW, with delivery possible in 2028–2030. The sources used here do not establish a final site connection contract, reserved capacity in force today, or energisation date.
Updates
2026-09-08
Smedjebacken executive board recommends a land transaction
The executive board recommended that the municipal council approve an option to acquire Röbacken industrial land through a newly formed municipal company and a lease of 6.5 hectares. This is a recommendation, not a completed sale or final council approval.
2026-08-25
EcoDataCenter reports plans for a third Dalarna campus
Paired Swedish and English notices describe 52 hectares at Röbacken but differ on the land instrument. The English-only 150 MW phrase now has historical context in a 2025 municipal record, though its live metric boundary remains undefined.
Knowledge gaps
- The outcome of the 21 September 2026 council meeting has not been verified in the published minutes available on 22 September; final signed land instruments have not been reviewed.
- No council approval, building permit, environmental permit or construction start is recorded here.
- The 150 MW figure has 2025 municipal context for possible power delivery in 2028–2030, but no current site-connection document or IT/facility metric boundary is recorded.
- No site-level grid agreement, energisation milestone or delivered heat figure is cited.
Sources
- EcoDataCenter establishes itself in Smedjebacken Municipality — EcoDataCenter, 2026-08-25. Checked 2026-09-22.
- EcoDataCenter to establish third datacenter campus in Sweden — EcoDataCenter, 2026-08-25. Checked 2026-09-22.
- Municipal executive board minutes, 8 September 2026, § 109 — Smedjebacken Municipality, 2026-09-08. Checked 2026-09-22.
- Municipal council meeting schedule and protocols — Smedjebacken Municipality (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-23.
- Published municipal council minutes — Smedjebacken Municipality (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-23.
- Municipal executive board minutes, 8 April 2025, § 64 — Smedjebacken Municipality, 2025-04-08. Checked 2026-09-22.