Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: Sweden — Electricity Act connection duty and Ei supervision

Connection duty — a two-year sentence is not a reserved Swedish hall megawatt

Must the network company connect the hall because ellagen writes a duty, or have you only been handed a slide that says “two years”? Ellagen (1997:857) chapter 4 section 1 says the holder of a network concession shall, on objective, non-discriminatory and otherwise reasonable terms, connect an electrical installation to the line or network if the installation’s holder asks. For a local network the duty covers only installations inside the concession area. Section 2 allows a deviation only if there is no spare capacity and the shortage cannot be fixed in a socio-economically justified way without reinforcing the line or network, or if there are other special reasons. Section 5 says a company that must connect under section 1 shall carry out the connection within a reasonable time from receiving the request; the time may be longer than two years only if that is necessary given the connection’s scope and technical design, or if there are other special reasons. Energimarknadsinspektionen’s concession-duties page says a customer may ask Ei to review the terms, and that the request must reach Ei within two years of the network company’s written position. Ei PM2026:05 and the 11 June 2026 notice record a 2025 supervision of six regional companies plus Svenska kraftnät, covering 2023–2024 intake and offtake connections, and say connection times are often longer than two years. Those are statute and supervision sentences. They are not a reserved megawatt, not a TSO förhandsbesked and not a Meta Luleå, Microsoft Gävle–Sandviken–Staffanstorp, Google Horndal, EcoDataCenter Falun or atNorth SWE04 calendar. The early-indication page already owns the TSO paper class. The demand-connection-code page already owns the EU technical code. The substation-lead-times page already owns the concession-processing clock. This page only asks which published connection-duty object the hall file is sitting on.

Utility transformers and a web of overhead power lines against a clear sky.
Photo Alivia Alva on Unsplash

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers testing a connection-duty, two-year or capacity-refusal sentence on a Swedish hall file.

Reading order

Name the duty before you name the month. Chapter 4 section 1 is a duty on the concession holder, not a product a hall can print on a brochure. The request must come from the installation’s holder. A municipal welcome letter, an operator groundbreaking and a TSO application cell are other papers. Write who asked whom, on which date, for which electrical installation, before you say the company “must connect in two years.”

Then name the network class. On a local network the duty covers only installations inside the area concession. Connecting instead to a regional or transmission network needs the local holder’s consent or a permit from the network authority after an application by the regional or transmission holder — chapter 4 sections 3 and 4. A slide that says “we will take regional voltage” is not that permit. A line concession or an IKN exemption, already owned on the concession-object page, is still a different desk from this duty.

Then keep the two clocks on separate rows. Section 5’s reasonable-time duty, with the “longer than two years only if…” test, measures how long the company may take to carry out a connection it is obliged to make. Ei’s two-year window for asking the authority to review terms measures a different object: how late a customer may bring the written position to Ei. Do not collapse those two two-year sentences. Do not treat either as a reserved megawatt or as a hall energisation promise.

Then keep supervision on its own row. Ei PM2026:05 is a planned 2025 review of six named regional companies — Ellevio, Eon Energidistribution, Jämtkraft Elnät, Skellefteå Kraft Elnät, Vattenfall Eldistribution and Öresundskraft Elnät — plus Svenska kraftnät, covering 2023–2024 connections. The 11 June 2026 notice says times are often longer than two years, especially on larger projects, that processes and information vary, and that some companies treat a multi-year plan as still “reasonable” because the customer had foresight. Those are supervision findings about mixed intake and offtake files. They are not a Swedish hall average and not a calendar for Horndal or Arlandastad.

  • Duty and request before any two-year slogan.
  • Local-area duty versus a regional or transmission hook-up.
  • Section 5’s carrying-out clock is not Ei’s review window.
  • PM2026:05 is supervision of named companies, not a hall month.

What the duty actually measures

The duty measures a connection on named terms, not a spare-power table. Section 1’s three adjectives — objective, non-discriminatory, otherwise reasonable — attach to the terms. Ei’s duties page says the duty covers household, industrial and production connections. That list is not a data-centre chapter. A hall installation is still an electrical installation in the Act’s language only if someone has actually asked to connect one.

A lawful deviation measures a capacity test, not a slogan that says “the north is full.” Section 2 requires no spare capacity and no socio-economically justified fix without reinforcement, or other special reasons. Section 9 adds a later information duty: a company that has refused because the line or network lacks capacity shall, against reasonable compensation, tell the requester which measures are needed so that the connection can be made. A refusal letter that names neither the test nor the measures has not yet shown section 2.

Information and timetables sit on their own desks. Section 7 says the company shall without delay give written information about the general terms it applies, and that fees and other terms for a new connection shall be given within a reasonable time. Section 8 says a company that has received a request shall produce a handling timetable and later a connection timetable. Section 8 a, in the 2025 wording, says a distribution-network company shall give clear and transparent information on how the request is handled within three months of receipt and then at least once a quarter until it finally takes a position. Those clocks are not a reservation and not a TSO förhandsbesked.

Keep the supervision tables off the hall row. PM2026:05 prints company-level counts and year-ranges for mixed connections in 2023–2024. The 11 June 2026 notice summarises that many completed connections exceeded two years from a complete application, that times can be long even where capacity shortage has not formally been declared, and that information about capacity, queues, handling times and project status differs between companies. This page will not move those company cells onto a named Swedish hall. It will not invent a national hall month by averaging them.

What named primary sources show

Ellagen chapter 4 sections 1 to 5, 7 to 9 and 8 a remain the statute. Keep the duty, the deviation test, the local-versus-regional hook-up, the reasonable-time rule and the information desks attached to those sections. Do not invent a data-centre paragraph.

Ei’s concession-duties page is the dated agency desk for the two-year window to ask for a review of terms. Ei PM2026:05 and the 11 June 2026 notice are the dated supervision desks for six named regional companies plus Svenska kraftnät. They do not, in the files used here, name a connection-duty decision for a named Swedish hall.

The concession-object page, the early-indication page and the demand-connection-code page remain other desks. This page will not copy their clocks.

A matrix instead of a two-year slogan

Draw one page with paper rows and evidence columns. Connection duty, capacity deviation, regional hook-up permit, carrying-out clock, Ei review window and TSO indication are different rows. Who asked, which network, which written position and which date are different columns. Empty cells stay empty.

Do not invent a Swedish hall-connection league from PM2026:05’s company tables.

ObjectWhat a source can showWhat this page will not invent
DutyEllagen 4:1 — objective, non-discriminatory, reasonable termsA reserved hall megawatt
Deviation4:2 — no spare capacity; no justified fix without reinforcementA north-is-full slogan
Carrying-out clock4:5 — reasonable time; longer than two years only if…A two-year hall guarantee
Ei review windowDuties page — request within two years of the written positionA national hall month from PM2026:05

Common misreads

The first misread is to treat section 5 as a two-year hall guarantee. The section is a “longer than two years only if…” test, not a promised energisation date. The second is to collapse that clock into Ei’s two-year window for asking a review of terms. The third is to treat a TSO early indication or a demand-connection-code paper as this duty. The fourth is to treat a local-area duty as a right to hook onto the regional or transmission network without section 3.

The fifth is to invent a national hall month from PM2026:05. The sixth is to treat a multi-year plan letter as proof that section 2’s capacity test has been shown. The seventh is to use a groundbreaking in Luleå, Falun, Horndal or Arlandastad as proof that a named connection-duty decision already exists.

What to ask next

Ask who holds the installation and who holds the concession. Ask whether a dated request exists, and whether the live answer is a connection on named terms, a section 2 deviation, a section 3 regional hook-up, or only a meeting note. Ask which of the two two-year sentences the file is using. Ask whether PM2026:05 has been pasted on as a hall calendar.

Then open the grid-connection page, the early-indication page, the demand-connection-code page and the concession-object page. If the operator will not name the request and the written position, record the gap. Do not fill it from a two-year slogan.

  1. Is the live paper a section 1 duty, a section 2 deviation, or only a slogan?
  2. Has the carrying-out clock been collapsed into Ei’s review window?
  3. Has a local-area duty been treated as a regional hook-up?
  4. Has PM2026:05 been used as a hall month?
  5. Has a TSO indication been treated as this duty?

What this does and does not prove

This page proves that ellagen already writes a connection duty on named terms, that a deviation needs a capacity test, that two different two-year sentences exist, and that Ei has supervised named regional and transmission companies for 2023–2024.

It does not prove that a named Swedish hall holds a connection-duty decision. It does not invent a national hall month. It does not treat a two-year sentence as reserved power.

Empty cells stay empty. Until a later primary source names a Swedish hall’s dated request and written position, the duty stays a method, not a census.

Sources

  1. Electricity Act (1997:857) Sveriges riksdag (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  2. Information for network companies that have applied for or been granted a network concession Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  3. Review of the regional and transmission networks’ connection duty (Ei PM2026:05) Energimarknadsinspektionen, 2026-06-11. Checked 2026-09-12.
  4. Ei has reviewed how one transmission-network company and several regional-network companies meet the connection duty Energimarknadsinspektionen, 2026-06-11. Checked 2026-09-12.
  5. Applying for a line concession Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.

Related