Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: Sweden — Electricity Act revenue caps as Ei decides them

A revenue cap is not a hall tariff — Electricity Act chapter 5 is a four-year ceiling

Is a Swedish hall already looking at a cheap network bill because someone said “the revenue cap went up”, or because a dated Electricity Act chapter 5 file has actually set a four-year ceiling for a named network owner? Electricity Act (1997:857) chapter 5 section 1, used here as Sveriges riksdag publishes it, says a network activity shall for a supervisory period have a determined revenue cap that shall not be larger than what is needed to cover the costs of operating a network activity that has similar objective conditions and is conducted in a fit and efficient way, to cover depreciation, and to give such a return on the capital base as is needed to obtain capital for investments in competition with alternative placements of corresponding risk. The capital base is the capital required to conduct the activity. Section 2 says the supervisory period shall be four calendar years unless there are special reasons for another period. Section 3 says the network authority shall decide the cap at the latest two months before the period starts, and that the decision shall show the data and methods used. Section 9 lets quality raise or lower the return. Section 11 lets efficient use of the grid raise or lower the return. Section 12 a, as worded by Act (2022:596), lets the use of flexibility services raise or lower the cap. Section 13 says a local-network cap is set for each concession area, unless the authority has decided on combined accounts. Section 15 sets one cap for a concession-holder’s regional network in Sweden. Section 16 sets one cap for a transmission network. Section 27 says that if collected revenues exceeded the cap, the next period’s cap shall be reduced by the surplus. Section 28 adds an overcharge supplement if the excess was more than five percent. Section 29 lets an unused remainder be collected in the next period. Ei’s regulation page, used here, writes those caps as the ceiling on what network companies may charge customers, set in advance for four years, and writes that network charges shall under the electricity-market directive be reasonable, objective and non-discriminatory. Ei’s 3 April 2024 news, used here, says the authority had then decided the 2024–2027 caps for all of just over 170 electricity-network companies. The caps total about 326 billion kronor in 2022 prices — about 100 billion more than the 2020–2023 room after converting that earlier room to 2022 prices with CPI. The allowed real rate of return was set at 4.53 percent. Planned investments are written as about 30 billion kronor a year in 2022 prices, against 23 billion a year in 2020–2023. Ei writes that many customers can expect higher network charges, and that each company still sets its own charges inside the room the rules allow. Those are statute and agency sentences. They are not a hall tariff, not a reserved megawatt and not a Meta Luleå, Microsoft Gävle–Sandviken–Staffanstorp, Google Horndal, EcoDataCenter Falun or atNorth SWE04 invoice. The connection-charges page already owns the connection invoice. The connection-duty page already owns the duty to connect. This page only asks which published revenue-cap object the hall file is sitting on. This is orientation, not counsel.

Utility transformers and a web of overhead power lines against a clear sky.
Photo Alivia Alva on Unsplash

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers placing a cheap-network, revenue-cap or four-year-tariff sentence on a Swedish hall power file.

Reading order

Name the cap before you name a hall bill. Chapter 5 section 1 is a ceiling on a network owner’s collected revenues, not a product a campus can print as “our tariff”. Write which owner, which period and which decision date before you say the bill “went down.”

Then keep the four-year clock and the two-month decision clock on their own rows. Section 2 is four calendar years unless special reasons apply. Section 3 is a decision at the latest two months before the period. The 2024–2027 decisions sit on Ei’s 3 April 2024 news. They are not a reserved megawatt.

Then keep quality, efficient use, flexibility, surplus and unused remainder on later rows. Sections 9, 11 and 12 a can raise or lower the return or the cap. Sections 27 to 29 move surplus, a five-percent overcharge supplement and unused room into the next period. The connection-charges page already owns the connection invoice.

Then keep named project rows as geography. Microsoft, Falun, Horndal, SWE04 Sollefteå and evroc Arlandastad stay operator papers. This register does not publish a chapter 5 decision that names those cadastral units as a tariff class.

  • Chapter 5 section 1 is a ceiling, not a hall invoice.
  • The period is four calendar years unless special reasons apply.
  • 326 billion kronor is Ei’s 3 April 2024 total in 2022 prices.
  • A connection charge is still a different desk.

What the ceiling, the period and the 2024 decisions actually measure

The ceiling measures a room for collected network revenues, not a promised hall öre. Section 1’s three rows are efficient operating costs, depreciation and a competitive return on the capital base. Ei’s regulation page repeats that the cap shall cover fit and efficient operation, depreciation and the return needed to attract investment capital.

The period measures four calendar years. Section 3’s two-month clock is a decision duty on the authority. A slide that says “the new period has started” has not yet shown which decision, for which owner, on which date.

The 3 April 2024 news measures a national total and a method sentence. Just over 170 companies. About 326 billion kronor in 2022 prices. A 4.53 percent real rate of return. Planned investments of about 30 billion kronor a year in 2022 prices. Ei writes that a part of the increase is interest rates and component prices, and that the authority also sees a need to develop the method. Those sentences are not a Horndal invoice.

Surplus and unused room measure later true-up. Section 27 reduces the next cap by an excess. Section 28 adds an overcharge supplement above five percent. Section 29 lets unused room be collected later. None of those rows is a reserved hall megawatt.

What named primary sources show

Electricity Act chapter 5 sections 1–3, 9, 11, 12 a, 13, 15, 16 and 27–29 remain the statute. Do not invent a data-centre paragraph. Act (2025:1345) is published with a 1 January 2027 entry; this page does not treat that later wording as already the live 2024–2027 frame.

Ei’s regulation page and the 3 April 2024 news remain the dated agency desks. The 326 billion kronor total, the 4.53 percent rate and the “just over 170 companies” sentence stay on that 3 April 2024 paper. Named operator rows remain geography.

No cited source here publishes a project-specific hall tariff, a reserved megawatt or a campus invoice created by treating the national total as a local price.

A matrix instead of a cheap-network slogan

Draw one page with object rows and evidence columns. The chapter 5 ceiling, the four-year period, the 3 April 2024 total, a connection charge and a named campus town are different columns. Empty cells stay empty.

Do not invent a hall öre from the 326 billion kronor sentence. That sentence is a national total in 2022 prices, not a campus invoice.

ObjectWhat a source can showWhat this page will not invent
CeilingEllagen 5:1 — efficient costs, depreciation, competitive returnA hall tariff
Period5:2 four calendar years; 5:3 decision two months before startA reserved hall year
2024–2027 totalEi 3 April 2024: ~326 bn SEK in 2022 prices; 4.53% real returnA Horndal invoice
True-up5:27–29 surplus, 5% overcharge supplement, unused roomA connection charge
Named campus townMicrosoft 16 Nov 2021; Falun; Horndal; SWE04 23 Feb 2026; Arlandastad 3 Feb 2025A chapter 5 hall class or reserved MW

Common misreads

The first misread is to treat the 326 billion kronor total as a hall discount. Ei wrote a national ceiling in 2022 prices. The second is to treat a higher cap as a reserved megawatt. The third is to collapse the cap into a connection charge. Those are different desks.

The fourth is to treat a named campus town as proof that a chapter 5 decision already names that unit. The fifth is to treat Act (2025:1345)’s 1 January 2027 entry as already the live 2024–2027 method. The sixth is to invent a hall öre. The seventh is to collapse this page into the connection-charges page or the connection-duty page.

What to ask next

Ask which dated paper anyone is quoting — a chapter 5 decision for a named owner, the 3 April 2024 national total, a later true-up or only a cheap-network slide — and which cadastral unit it names. Ask whether the sentence is actually about a connection charge.

Then open the connection-charges page, the connection-duty page, the area-concession page and the power hub. If the operator will not name the owner, the period and the date, record the gap. Do not fill it from a cheap-network slide. This page is not legal advice.

  1. Is the paper a chapter 5 decision — or only a cheap-network slide?
  2. Which network owner and which four-year period is actually named?
  3. Has the 326 billion kronor total been treated as a hall invoice?
  4. Has a connection charge been collapsed into the revenue cap?
  5. Has a campus town been treated as a tariff class?

What this does and does not prove

This page proves that Electricity Act chapter 5 already writes a four-year revenue ceiling with quality, efficiency and later true-up rows, and that Ei’s 3 April 2024 news published a 2024–2027 total of about 326 billion kronor in 2022 prices for just over 170 companies — and that those facts are not a reserved hall megawatt.

It does not prove that a named Swedish hall holds a dated local tariff. It does not invent a hall öre for Horndal or Arlandastad. It does not treat a campus press note as a chapter 5 decision.

Empty cells stay empty. Until a later primary source names the owner, the period and the dated paper, the revenue-cap clock stays a method, not a census. DataCenterSweden records the method.

Sources

  1. Ei — Regulation of electricity-network activity Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  2. Ei — Revenue-cap decisions for electricity-network companies 2024–2027 (3 April 2024) Energimarknadsinspektionen, 2024-04-03. Checked 2026-09-12.
  3. Electricity Act (1997:857) Sveriges riksdag (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  4. Microsoft opens its sustainable datacenter region in Sweden Microsoft, 2021-11-16. Checked 2026-09-10.
  5. EcoDataCenter 1, Falun EcoDataCenter, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
  6. Horndal, Sweden – Google Data Center Location Google Data Centers, 2026-09-01. Checked 2026-09-11.
  7. New 300MW mega site in Sollefteå, Sweden atNorth, 2026-02-23. Checked 2026-09-11.
  8. evroc finalizes land purchase in Arlandastad, Stockholm evroc, 2025-02-03. Checked 2026-09-10.

Related