Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: Union demand-connection law; Ei complementary rules; Swedish TSO compliance process where sourced
The demand connection code is not a reserved Swedish hall megawatt
Does a Swedish hall already “meet DCC” because a slide says Demand Connection Code, or because a named system operator has actually applied Commission Regulation (EU) 2016/1388 to that facility? Energimarknadsinspektionen’s DCC page, used here, says the Commission regulation on demand connection entered into force on 7 September 2016 after publication on 18 August 2016. It applies from three years after publication — August 2019 — except articles 4.2 b, 6, 51, 56 and 57. The page says DCC introduces common rules for connecting facilities that consume electricity, covering demand facilities and distribution systems and their ability to provide capacity especially through demand flexibility. Svenska kraftnät’s DCC page, reviewed 8 May 2024, says the code shall ensure fair competition on the internal electricity market, system security, integration of electricity from renewable sources and Union-wide trade. It lists four connection objects: demand facilities to a transmission system, distribution facilities to a transmission system, distribution systems including closed distribution systems, and demand units used by a demand facility or a closed distribution system to provide demand-flexibility services. Ei has issued EIFS 2019:6 as complementary generally applicable requirements. Svenska kraftnät has published a compliance procedure from a signed connection agreement to a final operational notification; the TSO assesses fulfilment and the facility owner verifies it. Most Swedish halls still have a regional or local network counterpart. A Union demand-connection rule is not that counterpart’s reservation letter. The grid-connection page already owns the Swedish process conversation. The flexibility page already owns reserve products. This page only asks which published DCC object the hall file is sitting on.

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers testing a DCC-compliant, demand-code or frequency-withstand sentence on a Swedish hall connection file.
Reading order
Seat the object and the system operator before you compare slogans. A demand facility connected to a transmission system, a distribution system, a closed distribution system and a demand unit used for flexibility are four objects on Svenska kraftnät’s list. A retail colo hall in Kista that talks only to a local network owner is not automatically the first object. Write the voltage, the counterpart and the object on one line before you say the hall “meets DCC”.
Then keep the Union clock on its own row. The regulation entered into force on 7 September 2016 and applies from August 2019 except the listed articles. New connecting facilities shall meet the requirements. Existing facilities that are modified can be covered in certain cases. Ei’s page names article 4.1.a for a modification notice when an existing transmission-connected demand facility, distribution facility or distribution system, or a demand unit above 1 000 V, is modernised.
Then keep EIFS 2019:6 and the compliance procedure on their own rows. Ei’s complementary generally applicable requirements include frequency withstand bands: 30 minutes at 47.5–48.5 Hz, 30 minutes at 48.5–49.0 Hz, unlimited at 49.0–51.0 Hz and 30 minutes at 51.0–51.5 Hz. Demand units used for flexibility shall remain connected through frequency-change rates up to 2 Hz per second, calculated over 500 milliseconds. Svenska kraftnät’s procedure runs from a signed connection agreement to a final operational notification. Those are TSO-side verification facts. They are not a reserved megawatt on a municipal welcome letter.
Then keep named project rows as operator papers. Microsoft’s municipalities, EcoDataCenter Falun, Google Horndal, SWE04 Sollefteå and evroc Arlandastad stay geography and intention. This register has DCC letterheads but no project-specific operational notification for those halls.
- Object and counterpart before a DCC-compliant slogan.
- August 2019 is the general application clock, not a hall reservation.
- EIFS 2019:6 is complementary national requirements, not a plot offer.
- A TSO compliance file is not a local-network letter.
What a DCC clock and a reservation clock actually measure
The four objects on Svenska kraftnät’s DCC page measure connection classes, not hall marketing. A demand facility connected to a transmission system is not the same object as a distribution system, a closed distribution system or a demand unit used for flexibility. A retail colo hall that talks only to a local network owner is usually sitting on a distribution-side counterpart. That counterpart still has to apply the Union rule where it applies. The counterpart’s letter is still not a reserved megawatt and not a final operational notification.
Ei’s complementary requirements measure withstand and flexibility behaviour, not a plot offer. EIFS 2019:6 states frequency bands: thirty minutes at 47.5–48.5 Hz, thirty minutes at 48.5–49.0 Hz, unlimited at 49.0–51.0 Hz and thirty minutes at 51.0–51.5 Hz. Demand units used for flexibility shall remain connected through frequency-change rates up to 2 Hz per second, calculated over 500 milliseconds. Those numbers are national complementary requirements under the Union code. They are not a municipal welcome, not a TSO reservation and not a hall IT load.
Svenska kraftnät’s compliance procedure measures a TSO-side verification path. The published sequence runs from a signed connection agreement to a final operational notification. The TSO assesses fulfilment. The facility owner verifies it. The page used here was reviewed on 8 May 2024. A slide that says “DCC compliant” without that file is a slogan. A signed connection agreement is still not a reserved application cell on the 2 September 2026 area table.
The grid-connection page and the early-indication page measure later Swedish process papers. Most Swedish halls still have a regional or local network counterpart. A Union demand-connection rule does not skip that counterpart’s queue, indication or reservation. The flexibility page already owns reserve-product names. A demand unit used for flexibility is a DCC object. It is not a prequalified FCR or FFR contract.
What named primary sources show
Commission Regulation (EU) 2016/1388 remains the dated Union letterhead. Ei’s DCC page remains the dated Swedish commentary for entry into force on 7 September 2016, application from August 2019 except the listed articles, and the modification-notice sentence in article 4.1.a. EIFS 2019:6 remains the complementary generally applicable requirements, including the frequency bands used here.
Svenska kraftnät’s DCC page, reviewed 8 May 2024, remains the dated source for the four connection objects, the Union-market purpose sentence and the compliance procedure from a signed connection agreement to a final operational notification. The requirements-at-connection page remains the TSO tools letterhead. The grid-connection sources in this register remain the Swedish process papers.
Named operator rows remain geography and intention. No cited source here publishes a project-specific operational notification, a DCC compliance file or a reserved megawatt created by the Union code for a named Swedish hall.
A matrix instead of a DCC-compliant slogan
Draw one page with object rows and evidence columns. Union code, EIFS 2019:6, connection object, counterpart, signed agreement, final operational notification and reserved megawatts are different columns. Empty cells stay empty. A frequency band is a withstand footnote, not a reservation column.
Do not invent a hall compliance census from the Union code. The named halls stay without a published operational notification in this register.
| Object | What a source can show | What this page will not invent |
|---|---|---|
| Union code | 2016/1388: in force 7 Sep 2016; applies Aug 2019 except listed articles | A reserved hall MW |
| Four objects | SVK DCC page: transmission-connected demand, distribution facilities, distribution systems, flexibility units | A Kista colo as automatically transmission-connected |
| EIFS 2019:6 | Frequency bands and 2 Hz/s over 500 ms for flexibility units | A plot offer or IT load |
| Compliance file | Signed connection agreement to final operational notification; TSO assesses, owner verifies | A municipal welcome as that file |
| Swedish process | Regional or local counterpart; indication and reservation stay later papers | A DCC slide as a TSO reservation |
Common misreads
The first misread is to treat a Demand Connection Code slide as a reserved Swedish hall megawatt. The code is a connection-requirement letterhead. The second is to treat every hall as a transmission-connected demand facility. Svenska kraftnät lists four objects. The third is to treat EIFS 2019:6 frequency bands as a plot offer.
The fourth is to treat a signed connection agreement as a final operational notification. The fifth is to treat a demand unit used for flexibility as a prequalified reserve contract. The sixth is to invent an operational notification for Horndal or Arlandastad. The seventh is to collapse this page into the grid-connection page or the flexibility page.
What to ask next
Ask which DCC object and which system operator anyone is quoting — transmission-connected demand, distribution system, closed distribution system or flexibility unit — and which dated paper you actually hold. Ask whether a frequency band has been treated as a reservation. Ask whether a local-network letter has been treated as a final operational notification.
Then open the grid-connection page, the early-indication page and the flexibility page. If the operator will not name the object, the counterpart and the operational-notification class, record the gap. Do not fill it from a DCC-compliant slide. This page is not legal advice.
- Is the live object transmission-connected demand or a distribution-side counterpart?
- Has a DCC slide been treated as a reserved megawatt?
- Has EIFS 2019:6 been treated as a plot offer?
- Has a signed agreement been treated as a final operational notification?
- Has a flexibility unit been treated as a prequalified reserve contract?
What this does and does not prove
This page proves that Ei and Svenska kraftnät already publish Commission Regulation (EU) 2016/1388 as a Union demand-connection code with four connection objects, complementary Swedish requirements in EIFS 2019:6 and a TSO compliance path from a signed agreement to a final operational notification — and that those facts are not a reserved hall megawatt.
It does not prove that a named Swedish hall holds an operational notification. It does not invent a compliance file for Horndal or Arlandastad. It does not treat a frequency band as occupancy or as reserved power.
Empty cells stay empty. Until a later primary source names a project-specific DCC object, counterpart and operational notification, the demand-connection clock stays a method, not a census.
Sources
- Commission Regulation (EU) 2016/1388 establishing a Network Code on Demand Connection — European Union, 2016-08-17. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Energimarknadsinspektionen — Demand connection (DCC) — Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Svenska kraftnät — Demand connection (DCC) — Svenska kraftnät, 2024-05-08. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Svenska kraftnät — Requirements at connection — Svenska kraftnät (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- EIFS 2019:6 — generally applicable requirements for demand connection — Energimarknadsinspektionen, 2019-01-01. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Connect to the transmission network — Svenska kraftnät, 2026-04-23. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Principles and guidance for connection to the transmission network — Svenska kraftnät, 2025-01-01. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Microsoft opens its sustainable datacenter region in Sweden — Microsoft, 2021-11-16. Checked 2026-09-10.
- evroc finalizes land purchase in Arlandastad, Stockholm — evroc, 2025-02-03. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Horndal, Sweden – Google Data Center Location — Google Data Centers, 2026-09-01. Checked 2026-09-11.