Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: Sweden — Electricity Act area concessions as Ei explains them

An area concession is not a line concession — Ellagen 2:2 is a geographic network right

Is a Swedish hall already inside “the local monopoly” because a slide coloured a municipality, or because a dated Electricity Act chapter 2 file has actually granted a nätkoncession för område? Electricity Act (1997:857) chapter 2 section 2, used here as Sveriges riksdag publishes it, says a network concession shall concern a line with a mainly determined route (nätkoncession för linje) or a line network within a certain area (nätkoncession för område). Section 10 says a decision on an area concession shall state a highest allowed voltage for the network, and may also state a lowest allowed voltage if the applicant asks. When a voltage is set, particular regard shall be had to the voltage that can be foreseen as needed to run the network, the environmental effect of a future expansion, ensuring a socio-economically justified expansion, and the consequences for affected customers and concession-holders. Section 11 lets another network operator build and use lines under someone else’s area concession if that holder consents and the concession has no lowest allowed voltage. Section 15 says an area concession may be granted only if the area is a suitable unit for network activity and does not in any part coincide both geographically and as to voltage with another concession area. Section 16 adds a suitability test on the holder, and an extra suitability test for activity inside the area. Section 21 says a network concession applies until further notice; a line concession may be limited in time. Act (2013:207), in the transition wording Sveriges riksdag still publishes, said a concession that applied at the 1 June 2013 entry shall apply until further notice. Ei’s area-concession page, created 14 May 2024, reviewed 24 August 2026 and used here, writes that there are about 300 area concessions in Sweden and that they apply until further notice. The page splits two application doors: an area with only a highest allowed voltage (the local network) and an area with both a highest and a lowest allowed voltage (the regional network). Raising the voltage level requires a new area concession that replaces the earlier one. A granted area concession lets the holder build and use lines inside the geography without applying to Ei for each line. It does not give a right to use another person’s property; that still needs an agreement or a Lantmäteriet ledningsrätt. Other rules still apply, including Environmental Code consultation with the county board, water-operations notification and cultural-heritage permits. On a local-network area the holder has in principle an exclusive right to build and use lines up to that voltage, but may allow another network company to do so without that company applying to Ei. A regional-network area does not carry the same exclusive right; other companies may still build inside the same voltage interval with a line concession. The line-concession page already owns the line object. The IKN page already owns the exemption list. Microsoft’s 16 November 2021 note names Gävle, Sandviken and Staffanstorp. EcoDataCenter names Falun. Google names Horndal. atNorth’s 23 February 2026 SWE04 note names Sollefteå. evroc’s 3 February 2025 note names Arlandastad. None of those pages is a section 15 decision, a section 11 consent or a reserved megawatt. This page only asks which published area-concession object the hall file is sitting on. This is orientation, not counsel.

Utility transformers and a web of overhead power lines against a clear sky.
Photo Alivia Alva on Unsplash

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers placing a local-monopoly, area-concession or municipal-grid sentence on a Swedish hall connection file.

Reading order

Name the object before you name a monopoly. Chapter 2 section 2 splits line and area. A coloured municipality is not an area concession. Write the holder, the highest voltage and the geography before you say the hall “sits inside the local network.”

Then keep the local door and the regional door on separate rows. Ei’s page, reviewed 24 August 2026, writes a highest-only voltage as the local network and a highest-plus-lowest interval as the regional network. Exclusive-right language sits on the local door. The regional door still lets others apply for a line concession.

Then keep land rights, Environmental Code papers and IKN on later rows. An area concession is not a ledningsrätt. It is not a 12:6 consultation and not an IKN exemption. The line-concession page already owns the line object.

Then keep named project rows as geography. Microsoft, Falun, Horndal, SWE04 Sollefteå and evroc Arlandastad stay operator papers. This register does not publish a section 15 decision for those cadastral units.

  • Section 2 splits line and area; they are different objects.
  • About 300 area concessions apply until further notice.
  • A local-network exclusive right is not a regional-network exclusive right.
  • The concession is not a right to use another person’s land.

What the area right, the voltage test and the application actually measure

The area right measures a geography plus a voltage, not a hall pad. Section 15’s two tests are a suitable unit and no overlap both in space and in voltage. Ei’s page repeats those tests and adds a suitability test on the applicant under section 16. A municipal welcome is not that decision.

The voltage test measures four statutory regards under section 10. Foreseeable operating voltage, environmental effect of later expansion, a socio-economically justified expansion, and consequences for customers and other holders. Raising the voltage is a new area concession that replaces the old one. It is not a hall upgrade week.

The application measures named papers. Ei’s page, used here, asks for a plan of future transfer need, a map, highest and where relevant lowest construction voltage, an environmental description of later expansion, a socio-economic cost-benefit analysis, consequences for customers and holders, and the existing facility number on a highest-only file. A map at 1:1 200 000 was not enough in the published example; Ei asked for 1:50 000 so that section 15’s overlap test could be read. A GIS polygon is required. Those rows are not a reserved megawatt.

Land and neighbouring permits sit on later desks. Ei writes that an area concession is not a right to use another property, and that Environmental Code consultation, water-operations notification and cultural-heritage permits can still apply when new lines are built. The easements page already owns ledningsrätt. The IKN page already owns the exemption list.

What named primary sources show

Electricity Act chapter 2 sections 2, 10, 11, 15, 16 and 21 remain the statute. Act (2013:207)’s 1 June 2013 transition row remains the dated “until further notice” clock for concessions that already applied. Do not invent a data-centre paragraph.

Ei’s area-concession page, created 14 May 2024 and reviewed 24 August 2026, remains the dated agency desk. The “about 300” sentence and the local-versus-regional exclusive-right split stay on that page. Named operator rows remain geography.

No cited source here publishes a project-specific section 15 decision, a section 11 consent or a reserved hall megawatt created by colouring a municipality.

A matrix instead of a monopoly-pad slogan

Draw one page with object rows and evidence columns. The area object, the voltage door, the section 15 overlap test, a line concession, an IKN exemption and a named campus town are different columns. Empty cells stay empty.

Do not invent a hall monopoly from the “about 300” sentence. That sentence is a national count, not a campus right.

ObjectWhat a source can showWhat this page will not invent
Area versus lineEllagen 2:2 — geography plus voltage, or a determined routeA coloured municipality as a concession
Voltage door2:10 four regards; Ei: local highest-only versus regional intervalA hall voltage class
Overlap and suitability2:15 suitable unit, no overlap; 2:16 holder suitabilityA municipal welcome
Until further notice2:21; 2013:207 transition from 1 June 2013; Ei ~300 areasA reserved hall pad
Named campus townMicrosoft 16 Nov 2021; Falun; Horndal; SWE04 23 Feb 2026; Arlandastad 3 Feb 2025A section 15 decision or reserved MW

Common misreads

The first misread is to treat a coloured municipality as already a section 15 decision. The statute asks for a suitable unit and no overlap. The second is to collapse an area concession into a line concession. Those are different section 2 objects. The third is to treat the local-network exclusive right as also true on the regional door.

The fourth is to treat a named campus town as proof that the hall already sits inside a named area. The fifth is to treat the concession as a ledningsrätt. The sixth is to invent a hall monopoly pad. The seventh is to collapse this page into the line-concession page or the IKN page.

What to ask next

Ask which dated paper anyone is quoting — a section 15 decision, a highest-only local door, a highest-plus-lowest regional door, a section 11 consent or only a coloured municipality — and which cadastral unit it names. Ask whether the neighbouring object is actually a line concession or an IKN exemption.

Then open the line-concession page, the IKN page, the easements page and the power hub. If the operator will not name the area object, the voltage and the date, record the gap. Do not fill it from a monopoly slide. This page is not legal advice.

  1. Is the paper an area concession — or a line concession or an IKN row?
  2. Is the live door highest-only local, or highest-plus-lowest regional?
  3. Which holder, which voltage and which geography are actually written?
  4. Has the concession been treated as a ledningsrätt?
  5. Has a campus town been treated as a section 15 file?

What this does and does not prove

This page proves that Electricity Act chapter 2 already writes an area concession as a geographic network right with a voltage, a no-overlap test and an until-further-notice clock, and that Ei’s 24 August 2026 page publishes about 300 such areas with a local exclusive-right door and a regional non-exclusive door — and that those facts are not a reserved hall megawatt.

It does not prove that a named Swedish hall sits inside a named area. It does not invent a monopoly pad for Horndal or Arlandastad. It does not treat a campus press note as a section 15 decision.

Empty cells stay empty. Until a later primary source names the holder, the voltage and the dated paper, the area-concession clock stays a method, not a census. DataCenterSweden records the method.

Sources

  1. Ei — Applying for an area network concession Energimarknadsinspektionen, 2024-05-14. Checked 2026-09-12.
  2. Electricity Act (1997:857) Sveriges riksdag (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  3. Applying for a line concession Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  4. Ordinance (2007:215) on exemptions from the Electricity Act concession requirement Sveriges riksdag, 2007-05-03. Checked 2026-09-12.
  5. Microsoft opens its sustainable datacenter region in Sweden Microsoft, 2021-11-16. Checked 2026-09-10.
  6. EcoDataCenter 1, Falun EcoDataCenter, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
  7. Horndal, Sweden – Google Data Center Location Google Data Centers, 2026-09-01. Checked 2026-09-11.
  8. New 300MW mega site in Sollefteå, Sweden atNorth, 2026-02-23. Checked 2026-09-11.
  9. evroc finalizes land purchase in Arlandastad, Stockholm evroc, 2025-02-03. Checked 2026-09-10.

Related