Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: Sweden — Electricity Act transfer-fee design and Ei tariff supervision

A tariff slide is not reserved power — ellagen 4:26 designs a transfer fee, not a hall megawatt

Does a Swedish hall already “know its network öre” because a slide shows an effect-charge staircase, or because a dated Electricity Act chapter 4 file has actually named a transfer-fee design? Electricity Act (1997:857) chapter 4 section 16 says a concession holder shall transfer electricity for someone else on objective, non-discriminatory and otherwise reasonable terms. Section 26 says a network company shall design its charges for transferring electricity in a way that is compatible with efficient use of the electricity network and with efficient electricity production and use. Section 27 lets the government, or the authority the government names, issue regulations on how those charges shall be designed to promote that efficient use. Section 28 says a charge for transfer on a local network may not be designed with regard to where a connection sits inside a concession area. Energimarknadsinspektionen’s tariffs page, used here from the industry desk, says that in March 2026 the government asked Ei to repeal the regulations on the design of network tariffs (EIFS 2022:1), which had required network companies to introduce effect charges by 1 January 2027. Ei repealed those regulations in June 2026, withdrew the accompanying guidance and repealed the position statement Design of tariffs for transfer of electricity (Ei2025:06). Ei was also asked to propose a new model for designing effect charges and to report by 12 April 2027. Ei’s effect-charge page says the repeal is not a ban: companies still have to meet the Electricity Act and Article 18 of the EU electricity-market regulation, which among other things says network charges shall reflect costs, be transparent and take account of customers’ use of the network. Those are statute and agency sentences. They are not a reserved megawatt, not a connection charge and not a Meta Luleå, Microsoft Gävle–Sandviken–Staffanstorp, Google Horndal, EcoDataCenter Falun or atNorth SWE04 calendar. The revenue-cap page already owns the four-year ceiling. The connection-charge page already owns the one-off hook-up fee. This page only asks which published tariff-design object the hall file is sitting on. This is orientation, not counsel.

Utility transformers and a web of overhead power lines against a clear sky.
Photo Alivia Alva on Unsplash

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers placing an effect-charge-known, tariff-locked or network-öre sentence on a Swedish hall power file.

Reading order

Name the fee class before you name the öre. A transfer charge is a recurring charge for using the network. A connection charge is a one-off hook-up paper already owned on another page. A revenue cap is a four-year ceiling on what the company may take in total. Write which company, which voltage class and which dated tariff paper, before you say the hall “knows its öre.”

Then keep the 2026 repeal on its own row. EIFS 2022:1 was a regulation that required effect charges by 1 January 2027. Ei repealed it in June 2026 and also withdrew the guidance and Ei2025:06. That repeal is not a ban and not a national hall tariff. Ei’s project page says the new-model report is due on 12 April 2027. What happens after that report is, in Ei’s own words, not yet known.

Then keep Article 18 and chapter 4 on separate rows. The Electricity Act still asks for objective, non-discriminatory and reasonable transfer terms and for a design compatible with efficient use. The EU regulation still asks for cost-reflectivity, transparency and regard to how customers use the network. Those adjectives attach to the terms. They are not a reserved megawatt.

Then keep named project rows as paper classes. Microsoft names Gävle, Sandviken and Staffanstorp. EcoDataCenter names Falun. Google names Horndal. atNorth names Sollefteå. evroc names Arlandastad. None of those pages is a section 26 design, an effect-charge decision or a reserved hall öre.

  • Fee class before any öre slogan.
  • The June 2026 repeal is not a ban and not a hall tariff.
  • Section 26 is design; the revenue cap is a later ceiling.
  • A campus press note is not a tariff decision.

What the tariff actually measures

The tariff measures how a company splits allowed revenue across users, not how many megawatts a hall has reserved. Ei’s effect-charge page says companies may not take more in total than the revenue cap allows, and that an effect-charge model is a redistribution of the costs that together become the network charge. This page will not invent a hall cell inside that redistribution.

An effect charge measures a design choice that is still allowed, not a 2027 duty. Ei says effect charges are not named as such in the statute; they sat in the repealed regulations. They remain allowed if they meet the Act and Article 18. A company that has already introduced one is not, in Ei’s words, forced to go back. A company that has not introduced one is not forced to introduce one. Those are agency sentences about a design choice. They are not a hall calendar.

Information sits on its own desk. Section 23 says a company shall without delay give written information about charges and other transfer terms and shall publish those facts. Section 25 says the company shall tell users how the transfer charges are designed and how they can influence their costs by choosing other terms or changing their use. Those clocks are not a reservation.

Keep the 2027 electricity-market act off the live row. Elmarknadslag (2026:1281) is issued and, in the text used here, enters into force on 1 January 2027. Until that clock turns, chapter 4 of the Electricity Act remains the live transfer-fee desk. This page will not treat the 2027 act as already the hall’s tariff.

What named primary sources show

Electricity Act chapter 4 sections 16 and 26 to 28 remain the live statute. Keep the transfer duty, the efficient-use design and the local-network location ban attached to those sections. Ei’s tariffs page, effect-charge page and government-assignment page remain the dated agency desks for the June 2026 repeal and the 12 April 2027 report clock. Do not invent a data-centre paragraph.

The revenue-cap page and the connection-charge page remain other desks. Named operator rows remain land and event papers. They do not, in the files used here, name a section 26 design for a named Swedish hall.

A matrix instead of an öre slogan

Draw one page with paper rows and evidence columns. Transfer duty, fee design, repealed EIFS 2022:1, still-allowed effect charge, revenue cap and connection charge are different rows. Which company, which date and which paper are different columns. Empty cells stay empty.

Do not invent a Swedish hall öre from Ei’s 2027 report clock.

ObjectWhat a source can showWhat this page will not invent
Transfer dutyEllagen 4:16 — objective, non-discriminatory, reasonable termsA reserved hall megawatt
Design4:26 — compatible with efficient network useA national hall öre
RepealEi June 2026 — EIFS 2022:1 and Ei2025:06 withdrawnA 2027 hall duty
CeilingRevenue-cap page — a four-year total, not a tariff cellA campus calendar for Horndal

Common misreads

The first misread is to treat the June 2026 repeal as a ban on effect charges. Ei says the opposite. The second is to treat the repeal as a national hall tariff. The third is to collapse a transfer charge into a connection charge. The fourth is to treat the revenue cap as already the hall’s öre.

The fifth is to invent a hall cell from the 12 April 2027 report clock. The sixth is to treat Elmarknadslag 2026:1281 as already in force. The seventh is to use Horndal or Arlandastad as proof that a named section 26 design already exists.

What to ask next

Ask which dated paper anyone is quoting — a section 26 design, a still-live effect charge, the repealed EIFS 2022:1, a revenue-cap decision, a connection charge, or only a staircase slide — and which company it names. Ask whether the 2027 report clock has been pasted on as a hall öre.

Then open the revenue-cap page, the connection-charge page and the electricity-costs page. If the operator will not name the company and the tariff paper, record the gap. Do not fill it from an öre slogan. This page is not legal advice.

  1. Is the live paper a transfer-fee design — or only a staircase slide?
  2. Has the June 2026 repeal been treated as a ban, or as a hall tariff?
  3. Has a connection charge been collapsed into this fee?
  4. Has the 12 April 2027 clock been used as a hall öre?
  5. Has a campus town been treated as a dated tariff file?

What this does and does not prove

This page proves that Electricity Act chapter 4 already writes a transfer-fee design, that Ei repealed EIFS 2022:1 in June 2026, and that an effect charge remains allowed if it meets the Act and Article 18 — and that those facts are not a reserved hall megawatt.

It does not prove that a named Swedish hall holds a dated tariff design. It does not invent a hall öre for Horndal or Arlandastad. It does not treat a campus press note as section 26.

Empty cells stay empty. Until a later primary source names the company, the design and the dated paper, the tariff clock stays a method, not a census. DataCenterSweden records the method.

Sources

  1. Ei — Network tariffs Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  2. Ei — Capacity charges (effektavgifter) Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  3. Ei — Government assignment on capacity charges Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  4. Electricity Act (1997:857) Sveriges riksdag (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  5. Electricity Market Act (2026:1281) Sveriges riksdag, 2026-06-18. Checked 2026-09-12.
  6. Ei — Regulation of electricity-network activity Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  7. Energimarknadsinspektionen — Cost of a connection charge Energimarknadsinspektionen, 2025-12-03. Checked 2026-09-12.
  8. Microsoft opens its sustainable datacenter region in Sweden Microsoft, 2021-11-16. Checked 2026-09-10.
  9. EcoDataCenter 1, Falun EcoDataCenter, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
  10. Horndal, Sweden – Google Data Center Location Google Data Centers, 2026-09-01. Checked 2026-09-11.
  11. New 300MW mega site in Sollefteå, Sweden atNorth, 2026-02-23. Checked 2026-09-11.
  12. evroc finalizes land purchase in Arlandastad, Stockholm evroc, 2025-02-03. Checked 2026-09-10.

Related