Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: Sweden — transmission connection and line concession
Substation lead times — reading Svenska kraftnät’s published clocks
Is there a Swedish number of months from a hall slide to an energized substation? Svenska kraftnät’s 2025 principles paper already in this register publishes type-example clocks, not a hall guarantee. A new transmission-network station is considered only when the aggregated need is at least 100 megawatts on the 220 kilovolt network or 300 megawatts on the 400 kilovolt network. New stations are to be built as double-breaker switchgear. An early indication for needs up to 300 megawatts, at least three years out, is normally answered within three months and expires on the day it is given. A förhandsbesked is normally issued within twelve months of the investigation starting. After a connection agreement, design and procurement for a station alone normally take 1.5 to 2.5 years, or 4 to 5 years if transmission lines are also built, and building a station then normally takes 2 to 4 years. Energimarknadsinspektionen’s 2024 concession FAQ puts an average line-concession case at 9 to 20 months from application to decision. Those sentences live on different rows. They are not a transformer factory month and not a Kista or Sollefteå hall clock.

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers who have been handed a Swedish station date, a transformer slogan or a single ‘time to power’ bar.
Reading order
Start with the object, not with a month. Write whether the file is about a new bay in an existing station, a new station, a connecting line that needs a line concession, or only an early indication. Svenska kraftnät decides the connection point and the technical design. The 2025 principles paper says connection should first use an existing point and an existing distribution system. A new station is a later object. A transformer bay inside an existing station is another object again. Do not paste one bar across those four objects.
Then read the published clocks in the order the paper writes them. An indication is not a reservation. A complete application gets a receipt within two weeks and a completeness reply within two months. An investigation fee for 2025 is written as 100,000 kronor fixed plus 1,200 kronor per megawatt, adjusted annually with the consumer-price index. A förhandsbesked is normally within twelve months of the investigation starting. The applicant then has six months to sign a förprojekteringsavtal. A connecting-line concession application must sit with Energimarknadsinspektionen before a connection agreement can be signed. That agreement itself has a six-month signature window after the connection notice.
Only then open the construction clocks and the concession clock. Design and procurement for a station alone are written as normally 1.5 to 2.5 years; with transmission lines, normally 4 to 5 years. Building a station is written as normally 2 to 4 years. Those sentences are labelled as a type example for a medium-sized connection to a new station along an existing line corridor. Energimarknadsinspektionen’s concession FAQ is a different clock: 9 to 20 months on average in 2024 from application to decision, with a normal remiss of five weeks. Ellagen already in this register says a line concession must be built within five years after the decision gains legal force. The parent time-to-power page already owns the idea that there is no Swedish average hall month. This page does not repeat that sermon. It only keeps the station object on its own row.
- Name bay, new station, connecting line or indication before any month.
- Keep the twelve-month förhandsbesked clock off the 2–4-year build clock.
- A 9–20-month concession average is not a transformer factory date.
- The parent time-to-power page owns the missing national hall average.
What a station clock actually is
A station clock is a sequence of dated papers around one physical object: a bay, a station or a connecting line. It is not a colour on the indicative transmission-capacity map. The 2025 principles paper says Svenska kraftnät decides the point and the design because each new station or transformer bay adds fault sources. New tap connections are not accepted. New stations are double-breaker switchgear, and new connections sit in fully equipped bays on both busbars. An existing transformer bay is written as needing to reach 500 megawatts before a further bay is allowed, with a redundancy exception tied to Energimarknadsinspektionen’s quality rules. The dimensioning fault in the Nordic system is written as 1,400 megawatts. Those are design rules. They are not a hall month.
Reservation and allocation stay apart. Capacity is reserved when a förprojekteringsavtal is signed. Allocation sits in the later connection agreement and is then conditioned on a nyttjandeavtal that matches actual use. Unused allocated capacity returns to the pool. Svenska kraftnät’s 2 February 2026 notice says 22 positive förhandsbesked in 2025 reserved 3,695 megawatts of consumption and 1,170 megawatts of production, that förhandsbesked processing had shortened by about one third, and that 43 new cases arrived — more than 13,000 megawatts of injection and about 9,000 megawatts of withdrawal, about half of that withdrawal being data centres. Year-end queues are written as about 23,000 megawatts of injection and about 32,000 megawatts of withdrawal, excluding offshore wind. Those national queue rows are not a station build clock for one cadastral unit.
The construction sentences are type examples. After the connection agreement, design, procurement and a contractor agreement normally take 1.5 to 2.5 years if only a station is built, or 4 to 5 years if transmission lines are also built. After the contractor agreement, building a station normally takes 2 to 4 years, and a transmission line is given the same normal range. A station agreement must be signed before commissioning. Those ‘normally’ words are Svenska kraftnät’s. They are not a contracted milestone for Falun, Horndal or Sollefteå.
A line concession is a third machine. Energimarknadsinspektionen’s FAQ says a complete application still has a remiss, normally five weeks, and that an average case in the 2024 statistic ran 9 to 20 months from application to decision. A 4 March 2024 Ei notice is a different year: average processing moved from about 16 months to just under 12 months in 2023, with 220 decisions that year. Ellagen’s five-year build duty after legal force is a fourth clock. Ordinance (2007:215) can exempt some internal networks from concession. An IKN exemption is not a station, and it is not a transformer lead time. This page will not invent a factory month for a power transformer.
What named primary sources show
The 2025 principles paper shows the 100 and 300 megawatt new-station thresholds, the 500 megawatt existing-bay rule, the 1,400 megawatt dimensioning fault, double-breaker switchgear, the indication window of three months for up to 300 megawatts at least three years out, the two-week and two-month application clocks, the 2025 investigation fee, the twelve-month förhandsbesked sentence, the six-month förprojektering and connection-agreement windows, and the 1.5–2.5 / 4–5 / 2–4 year construction type examples. The 2 February 2026 Svenska kraftnät notice shows the 2025 förhandsbesked volumes and the data-centre share of new withdrawal cases. The indicative map remains a map.
Energimarknadsinspektionen’s concession FAQ shows the 9–20-month 2024 average and the five-week remiss. The 4 March 2024 notice shows the 2023 move from about 16 months to just under 12. Ellagen shows the five-year build duty. Ordinance (2007:215) shows that some internal networks can sit outside concession. Sollefteå’s 28 May 2026 notice of a reported 200 megawatt E.ON connection agreement is a municipal report of a connection paper. It is not a station build clock. EcoDataCenter’s 80 megawatt Falun electricity sentence stays an electricity sentence.
A matrix instead of one station month
The table is a permission table. A filled cell is a claim the named URL can carry. An empty cell means this page will not invent the missing factory month or the missing hall date.
Do not add the 2–4-year build sentence to the 9–20-month concession average and call the sum a Swedish substation lead time. Those remain different objects from different letterheads.
| Source | What that URL can show | What this page will not invent |
|---|---|---|
| Svenska kraftnät 2025 principles paper | 100 MW / 220 kV and 300 MW / 400 kV new-station thresholds; 500 MW existing-bay rule; 1,400 MW dimensioning fault; double-breaker switchgear; indication in 3 months for ≤300 MW ≥3 years out; 2-week / 2-month application clocks; 2025 investigation fee; förhandsbesked normally within 12 months; 6-month contract windows; 1.5–2.5 / 4–5 / 2–4 year type examples | A guaranteed hall month; a transformer factory month; those ranges as a Kista or Sollefteå contract |
| Svenska kraftnät 2 February 2026 | 22 förhandsbesked; 3,695 MW consumption and 1,170 MW production reserved; ~1/3 shorter förhandsbesked processing; 43 new cases; ~half of new withdrawal volume written as data centres; year-end queues ~23,000 / ~32,000 MW | A station build date; those MW as one hall’s IT load |
| Energimarknadsinspektionen concession FAQ (2024 statistic) | Average 9–20 months application to decision; remiss normally 5 weeks | A transformer delivery; a station construction year |
| Ei 4 March 2024 notice | 2023 average from ~16 months to just under 12; 220 decisions that year | The 2024 9–20-month row as the same year |
| Electricity Act (1997:857) | Line concession to be built within five years after legal force | A five-year hall energization promise |
| Ordinance (2007:215) | Some internal networks can sit outside concession | An IKN exemption as a transmission station |
| Sollefteå 28 May 2026 / EcoDataCenter 80 MW Falun | Reported 200 MW E.ON connection agreement; an electricity-supply sentence | Those MW as a station construction clock |
Common misreads
The first misread is to treat the 2–4-year station-build sentence as the whole Swedish lead time. That sentence starts after a contractor agreement, which itself sits after design and procurement. The second is to treat the early indication — normally three months, expired the same day — as reserved capacity. The paper says it is not a reservation. The third is to treat the 100 and 300 megawatt thresholds as a promise that a 300 megawatt announcement will get a new 400 kilovolt station. The threshold is when a new station may be considered. Svenska kraftnät still decides the point.
The fourth is to add 9–20 months of concession to 2–4 years of station build and 1.5–2.5 years of procurement and call the sum a transformer lead time. No source here publishes a factory month. The fifth is to treat the 2025 data-centre share of new withdrawal cases as a queue position for one hall. A national share is not a cadastral clock. The sixth is to paste the February 2026 reserved-megawatt table onto a 2023 Ei average as if they were one instrument.
What to ask next
If a brief prints one Swedish substation month, ask which named URL uses that month for a bay, a new station, a connecting line or an indication. If the URL only shows a map colour, a reserved national megawatt or a data-centre share of the 2025 queue, the brief has already left the source.
Then open the parent time-to-power page, the grid-connection page and the grid-queue page. Those pages already own the missing national hall average, the connection conversation and the queue literacy. This page only asks whether the station object is named.
- Is the object a bay, a new station, a connecting line or only an indication?
- Which published clock is in play — indication, förhandsbesked, concession, procurement or construction?
- Has anyone added the 9–20-month concession average to the 2–4-year build sentence?
- Is a reserved 2025 megawatt being treated as a hall station date?
- Has a transformer factory month been invented?
What this does and does not prove
This page proves that Svenska kraftnät’s 2025 principles paper publishes type-example clocks and design thresholds for a transmission-network station, and that Energimarknadsinspektionen publishes a separate concession-processing statistic. It proves that the 2 February 2026 notice is a national reservation and queue paper, not a hall station date.
It does not prove how many months a named Swedish hall will wait for a transformer. It does not prove that a 300 megawatt announcement receives a new 400 kilovolt station. It does not treat an IKN exemption as a station.
Empty cells stay empty. Until a later primary source names a Swedish hall’s station object with a dated clock and a boundary, the lead time stays a method, not a census.
Sources
- Principles and guidance for connection to the transmission network — Svenska kraftnät, 2025-01-01. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Connect to the transmission network — Svenska kraftnät, 2026-04-23. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Nearly 5,000 MW of new connections granted in 2025 — Svenska kraftnät, 2026-02-02. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Indication of available capacity — Svenska kraftnät, 2026-03-12. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Indicative transmission-network capacity map — Svenska kraftnät, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Questions and answers on concessions — network companies — Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- How a concession application is processed — Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Shorter processing times and a record number of decisions — Energimarknadsinspektionen, 2024-03-04. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Applying for a line concession — Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Electricity Act (1997:857) — Sveriges riksdag (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Ordinance (2007:215) on exemptions from the Electricity Act concession requirement — Sveriges riksdag, 2007-05-03. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Municipal report of E.ON’s connection agreement for atNorth in Långsele — Sollefteå kommun, 2026-05-28. Checked 2026-09-12.
- EcoDataCenter in Falun secures a future power supply of 80 MW — EcoDataCenter, 2020-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.