Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: IEA and EU supply-chain context; Swedish line concession where sourced

Cable lead times — keeping an IEA cable clock off a Swedish concession

Is the cable on the critical path for your Swedish hall, or have you only been handed a global survey slide that also mentions transformers? The IEA’s 25 February 2025 Building the Future Transmission Grid report, based on a 2024 industry survey, says it now takes two to three years to procure cables and up to four years to secure large power transformers, that average lead times for cables and large power transformers have almost doubled since 2021, and that waiting times for direct-current cables — often preferred for long-distance lines — extend beyond five years. The same survey suggests cable prices have nearly doubled since 2019, while power-transformer prices rose by around 75 percent. Those are IEA survey sentences about transmission-class equipment. They are not a Kista feeder week, not a Sollefteå trench calendar and not a substitute for Energimarknadsinspektionen’s line-concession clock. EI’s 4 March 2024 notice, already owned on the substation page, puts an average line-concession case at 9 to 20 months from application to decision. Ellagen already in this register says a line concession must be built within five years after the decision gains legal force. The transformer page already owns the 50 MVA and “large power transformer” cells. The substation page already owns Svenska kraftnät’s bay, station and 1.5-to-5-year design clocks. This page only asks which published cable object the hall file is actually sitting on.

Utility transformers and a web of overhead power lines against a clear sky.
Photo Alivia Alva on Unsplash

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers testing a cable-month sentence on a Swedish connection, trench or concession file.

Reading order

Name the cable object before you name a month. A customer-owned medium-voltage feeder on the plot, a regional-network land cable, a transmission-class alternating-current cable and a high-voltage direct-current cable are different machines. The IEA’s two-to-three-year cable sentence and its “beyond five years” direct-current sentence sit in the last two of those families. They do not automatically describe the trench between a Kista hall and the nearest network-owner bay.

Then name who is buying. The network owner may procure the cable that sits on its side of the point of connection. The hall developer may procure a customer feeder. Those two purchase orders do not share a factory slot just because a slide says “grid cables.” Svenska kraftnät’s connection pages describe a formal transmission conversation. Most halls still have a regional or local counterpart. Ask which letterhead will actually place the cable order.

Then keep the Swedish legal clock on its own row. Energimarknadsinspektionen’s 2024 concession notice is a processing average for a line-concession application, not a factory week. Ellagen’s five-year build duty starts after the decision gains legal force. The Commission’s 28 November 2023 Grid Action Plan asks ENTSO-E and the EU DSO Entity to give manufacturers more visibility of upcoming procurement. Visibility is not a reserved drum of cable for your plot. The parent time-to-power page already owns the missing national hall average.

  • Cable class before a month — customer feeder, AC land cable or HVDC.
  • Who places the purchase order.
  • A 9–20-month concession average is not a factory slot.
  • The transformer and substation pages already own their own clocks.

What a cable clock actually measures

The 2025 IEA transmission report is useful because it refuses a single world week and because it splits cables from transformers. The 2024 survey of leading industry players puts cable procurement at two to three years and large power transformers at up to four years. It says average lead times for those two families have almost doubled since 2021. A later sentence in the same chapter says waiting times for direct-current cables extend beyond five years, and that the survey suggests cable prices have nearly doubled since 2019. Those are global survey sentences. They do not convert a Swedish detaljplan into a drum of cable, and they do not convert a drum of cable into a detaljplan.

The same report also says permitting remains the primary cause of delays in transmission projects in advanced economies, and that an extra-high-voltage line typically takes an average of eight years to develop in Europe and the United States. That eight-year sentence is a development clock for a transmission line. It is not a Swedish hall feeder and not a factory confirmation for a named Swedish plot.

Energimarknadsinspektionen’s 4 March 2024 notice is a Swedish processing paper. It publishes a 9-to-20-month average from application to decision for line-concession cases in 2024. The substation page already owns that bar as contrast to Svenska kraftnät’s station clocks. This page keeps it as contrast to the IEA factory bars. A concession average starts when an application exists. An IEA procurement year starts when a manufacturer is asked for a slot. Those are different letterheads.

Ellagen’s five-year build duty is a third Swedish bar. It runs after the concession decision gains legal force. It is not a factory slot and not a hall energisation date. Svenska kraftnät’s connection pages and the Network Development Plan 2026–2035 remain the formal Swedish transmission door and a dated plan document. Neither source, in the files used here, publishes a national data-center cable calendar.

What named primary sources show

The 2025 IEA transmission report and its 2023 grids predecessor show the dated cable-procurement sentences, the almost-doubled lead times since 2021, the beyond-five-years direct-current wait and the nearly-doubled cable-price sentence since 2019. The Commission’s Grid Action Plan of 28 November 2023 shows a European visibility action, not a Swedish reservation.

Energimarknadsinspektionen’s 4 March 2024 notice and the line-concession pages show a Swedish processing average of 9 to 20 months. Ellagen shows the five-year build duty after legal force. Svenska kraftnät’s connection pages and the 2026–2035 plan remain the transmission door. They do not publish a hall cable week.

Related pages already in this register: transformer lead times, substation lead times, time to power, grid connection and queue etiquette. Operator news for Horndal, SWE04 or Falun is not used here as a cable factory slot.

A matrix instead of one cable month

The table is a permission table. A filled cell is a claim the named URL can carry. An empty cell means this page will not invent the missing hall date or the missing data-centre cable chapter.

Do not add the IEA two-to-three-year cable bar to the 9-to-20-month concession average and the five-year Ellagen build duty and call the sum a Swedish hall cable clock. Those remain different objects from different letterheads.

SourceWhat that URL can showWhat this page will not invent
IEA transmission report, 25 February 2025Cable procurement two to three years; lead times almost doubled since 2021; DC cables beyond five years; cable prices nearly doubled since 2019A Kista or Sollefteå delivery week; a hall feeder class
IEA grids report, October 2023Earlier supply-chain context, including the 50 MVA transformer example already owned on the transformer pageA Swedish cable statute
Commission Grid Action Plan, 28 November 2023A European procurement-visibility action for manufacturersA reserved drum of cable
EI 4 March 2024 concession noticeAverage line-concession processing 9 to 20 months from application to decisionA factory slot; a hall trench calendar
Ellagen / SVK connection and NUP 2026–2035Five-year build duty after legal force; formal Swedish transmission door and plan periodA national data-center cable calendar

Common misreads

The first misread is to treat the IEA two-to-three-year cable sentence as a Swedish hall feeder. The survey is about transmission-class equipment. The second is to staple the beyond-five-years direct-current wait onto an alternating-current land cable. Those are different machines. The third is to add the cable bar to the transformer bar and call the sum “grid equipment.” The IEA keeps those families apart.

The fourth is to treat EI’s 9-to-20-month average as a factory confirmation. The average starts when an application exists. The fifth is to treat Ellagen’s five-year build duty as a procurement slot. The sixth is to treat the Commission’s visibility action as a reserved drum for a named Swedish plot.

What to ask next

If a brief prints one Swedish cable month, ask which named URL uses that month for a transmission-class factory slot, a direct-current wait, a line-concession average or a five-year build duty. If the URL only shows a transformer sentence, a station type-example or a company groundbreaking date, the brief has already left the source.

Then open the transformer page, the substation page and the time-to-power page. Those pages already own the machine class, the station object and the missing national hall average. This page only asks whether the cable bars stay on their own rows.

  1. Is the live paper a customer feeder, an AC land cable or an HVDC cable?
  2. Who places the purchase order?
  3. Has an IEA survey month been pasted onto a Swedish concession average?
  4. Has a direct-current wait been stapled onto an alternating-current trench?
  5. Has a data-hall cable chapter been invented?

What this does and does not prove

This page proves that the IEA already publishes a two-to-three-year cable-procurement sentence, a beyond-five-years direct-current wait and a nearly-doubled cable-price sentence, and that those bars are not Energimarknadsinspektionen’s 9-to-20-month concession average or Ellagen’s five-year build duty.

It does not prove how many weeks a named Swedish hall will wait for a feeder. It does not classify a trench. It does not treat a survey as a reservation.

Empty cells stay empty. Until a later primary source names a Swedish hall’s cable with a dated purchase order and a voltage class, the clock stays a method, not a census.

Sources

  1. Building the Future Transmission Grid International Energy Agency, 2025-02-25. Checked 2026-09-12.
  2. Electricity Grids and Secure Energy Transitions International Energy Agency, 2023-10-17. Checked 2026-09-12.
  3. Grids, the missing link — An EU Action Plan for Grids (COM(2023) 757 final) European Commission, 2023-11-28. Checked 2026-09-12.
  4. Questions and answers on concessions — network companies Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  5. Shorter processing times and a record number of decisions Energimarknadsinspektionen, 2024-03-04. Checked 2026-09-12.
  6. Applying for a line concession Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  7. Electricity Act (1997:857) Sveriges riksdag (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  8. Connect to the transmission network Svenska kraftnät, 2026-04-23. Checked 2026-09-10.
  9. Network development plan 2026–2035 Svenska kraftnät, 2025-12-15. Checked 2026-09-12.
  10. Indicative transmission-network capacity map Svenska kraftnät, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.

Related