Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: Sweden — balance responsibility under ellagen, SvK and Ei
A supply contract is not balance responsibility — ellagen 8 kap. still needs a named BRP
Does a Swedish hall already “have balance responsibility” because a retailer contract exists, or because a dated Electricity Act chapter 8 file has actually named who assumed the duty at the delivery point? Ellagen (1997:857) chapter 1, in the wording used here as amended by Act (2023:238), defines balansansvar as the economic responsibility for ensuring that the national electricity system is supplied with as much electricity as is taken out at an offtake point, or that as much electricity is taken out as is supplied at an injection point. Chapter 8 section 12 says a supplier may deliver or receive electricity only at a delivery point where someone has assumed the balance responsibility. Section 14 says the person who assumes that duty shall contract both with the system-responsible authority and with the party that, under section 22, performs the settlement between the balance-responsible parties. Section 15 says the contract with the system-responsible authority shall contain an undertaking to keep supply and offtake in balance and to pay compensation where the duty covers imbalances that flexibility services can cause. Section 18 says those contracts may not be signed until the network authority has approved the methods used to design them. Svenska kraftnät’s BRP page says a Balance Responsible Party has the commercial and planning responsibility for balance between supply and offtake at the point where the actor holds the duty, that the BRP and BSP roles were introduced on 1 May 2024 and replaced the earlier single “balansansvarig” role, that the duty applies per bidding zone, and that settlement is moving from the hour toward the quarter. Energimarknadsinspektionen’s 25 May 2023 notice says Ei approved Svenska kraftnät’s article 18 Electricity Balancing Guideline terms, to be implemented by 17 May 2024, and that after implementation it is the BSP that bids on SvK’s balancing markets while the BRP remains the party that strives to be in balance at the offtake or injection points it is responsible for. Those are statute and agency sentences. They are not a reserved megawatt, not an FCR product and not a Meta Luleå, Microsoft Gävle–Sandviken–Staffanstorp, Google Horndal, EcoDataCenter Falun or atNorth SWE04 calendar. The flexibility page already owns the ancillary-product desk. The connection-duty page already owns the network-company duty. This page only asks which published balance-responsibility object the hall file is sitting on. This is orientation, not counsel.

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers placing a we-have-a-supplier, we-are-the-BRP or imbalance-price sentence on a Swedish hall power file.
Reading order
Name the delivery point before you name the role. Section 12 attaches the duty to a leveranspunkt. A campus brochure, a connection request and a TSO early indication are other papers. Write which offtake or injection point anyone claims, and who is said to have assumed the duty there, before you say the hall “has balance responsibility.”
Then keep BRP and BSP on separate rows. Svenska kraftnät’s BRP page and Ei’s 25 May 2023 notice both say the old single role was split on 1 May 2024. The BRP plans and, if needed, trades itself into balance, and pays for remaining imbalances. The BSP is the actor that bids on SvK’s balancing markets. Ei’s flexibility-actors page repeats that split and adds the later aggregator role in ellagen. A slide that says “we will sell FCR from the hall, so we are the BRP” has collapsed those rows.
Then keep the two contracts on separate rows. Section 14 requires a contract with the system-responsible authority and a contract with the settlement party. SvK’s BRP page says the duty is formalised in the BRP agreement plus eSett’s settlement agreement and the Nordic imbalance-settlement handbook, and that an application to become a BRP goes via eSett while an Ediel agreement is signed with Svenska kraftnät. Section 18 says Ei must have approved the methods before those contracts are signed. A retail supply contract is not that pair.
Then keep named project rows as paper classes. Microsoft names Gävle, Sandviken and Staffanstorp. EcoDataCenter names Falun. Google names Horndal. atNorth’s SWE04 note names Sollefteå. evroc names Arlandastad. None of those pages is a named BRP at a named delivery point, a dated BRP agreement or an Ei method approval for a named Swedish hall.
- Delivery point and named BRP before any supplier slogan.
- BRP planning duty versus BSP bidding duty.
- SvK contract and eSett settlement are different papers.
- A retail contract is not section 14.
What the duty actually measures
The duty measures an economic and planning responsibility at a point, not a reserved hall megawatt. SvK’s BRP page says the BRP shall continuously plan and, if needed, trade itself into balance, that the duty applies per bidding zone, and that if it fails it pays the cost of restoring balance. Planning responsibility today runs to one hour before the electricity is used; the plans then pass to Svenska kraftnät, which balances the system in real time. SvK’s balancing page, reviewed on 14 May 2025, adds that after the settlement quarter the balance-responsible parties pay for deviations from the quarter average, and that SvK itself carries the remainder that cannot be allocated. Those sentences are process facts. They are not a hall imbalance invoice.
A missing BRP measures a later statutory fallback, not a hall outage slogan. Section 23 says a supplier that has delivered or received electricity at a point with no balance-responsible party shall, at settlement, be treated as the balance-responsible party for that point. Sections 33 to 37 give a supplier that has lost its balance responsibility a short window to restore it, after which the network company shall appoint a supplier that has undertaken to serve users or producers who lack one. Those clocks are not a reserved connection.
Becoming a BRP measures an application path, not a groundbreaking. SvK’s page says the applicant applies through eSett, signs an Ediel agreement, shows technical and legal requirements, and must pass Ediel tests. The English becoming-a-BRP page, reviewed on 19 September 2024, records that SvK expects a lead time of about three months because communication tests, risk assessment and a supplier-switch notice to the network owner each take time. That agency expectation is not a hall energisation date.
Keep flexibility products and connection duty on the pages that already own them. FCR, aFRR, mFRR and FFR live on the flexibility page. The network company’s duty to connect lives on the connection-duty page. This page will not copy those desks.
What named primary sources show
Ellagen chapter 8 sections 12, 14, 15, 18 and 22 to 23 remain the statute. Svenska kraftnät’s BRP page, BRP-agreement page and balancing page remain the dated TSO desks. Ei’s 25 May 2023 notice, flexibility-actors page and Electricity Balancing Guideline page remain the dated regulator desks.
Those pages do not, in the files used here, name a BRP for a named Swedish hall. Named operator rows remain geography.
The flexibility page, the connection-duty page and the electricity-areas page remain other desks. This page will not copy their clocks.
A matrix instead of a supplier slogan
Draw one page with paper rows and evidence columns. Delivery point, named BRP, SvK contract, eSett settlement, BSP bidding role and a retail supply contract are different rows. Who assumed the duty, which bidding zone and which date are different columns. Empty cells stay empty.
Do not invent a hall imbalance price from SvK’s process sentences.
| Object | What a source can show | What this page will not invent |
|---|---|---|
| Duty | Ellagen 8:12 — a named party at the delivery point | A reserved hall megawatt |
| BRP contract | 8:14–15 and SvK’s BRP page — SvK plus settlement | A retail contract as section 14 |
| BSP split | Ei 25 May 2023 — BSP bids; BRP stays in balance | An FCR product as this duty |
| Clock | SvK becoming-BRP page — about three months as an agency expectation | A hall energisation date |
Common misreads
The first misread is to treat a retail supply contract as section 14. The second is to collapse BRP and BSP after the 1 May 2024 split. The third is to treat an FCR or other flexibility product as this duty. The fourth is to treat a TSO early indication or a connection-duty letter as a named BRP.
The fifth is to invent a hall imbalance price from SvK’s quarter-settlement sentences. The sixth is to treat the about-three-month becoming-BRP expectation as a hall energisation date. The seventh is to use a groundbreaking in Luleå, Falun, Horndal or Arlandastad as proof that a named BRP object already exists.
What to ask next
Ask which dated paper anyone is quoting — a named BRP at a delivery point, a SvK agreement, an eSett settlement contract, a BSP agreement, or only a retailer slide — and which point it names. Ask whether BRP and BSP have been kept apart.
Then open the flexibility page, the connection-duty page and the electricity-areas page. If the operator will not name the point and the BRP, record the gap. Do not fill it from a supplier slogan. This page is not legal advice.
- Is the live paper a named BRP at a delivery point — or only a retailer?
- Have BRP and BSP been kept on separate rows?
- Has a flexibility product been treated as this duty?
- Has an imbalance price been invented?
- Has a campus town been treated as a dated BRP file?
What this does and does not prove
This page proves that ellagen already writes a balance-responsibility duty at a delivery point, that SvK already publishes the BRP desk, and that Ei already approved the BRP/BSP split — and that those facts are not a reserved hall megawatt.
It does not prove that a named Swedish hall holds a dated BRP. It does not invent an imbalance price for Horndal or Arlandastad. It does not treat a retailer contract as section 14.
Empty cells stay empty. Until a later primary source names the delivery point, the BRP and the dated agreements, the duty stays a method, not a census. DataCenterSweden records the method.
Sources
- Electricity Act (1997:857) — Sveriges riksdag (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Svenska kraftnät — Balance responsible party (BRP) — Svenska kraftnät (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Svenska kraftnät — The BRP agreement — Svenska kraftnät (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Svenska kraftnät — Becoming a BRP — Svenska kraftnät, 2024-09-19. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Svenska kraftnät — Balancing the power system — Svenska kraftnät, 2025-05-14. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Ei has decided terms for balance-service providers and balance-responsible parties — Energimarknadsinspektionen, 2023-05-25. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Ei — New flexibility actors on the electricity markets — Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Ei — Electricity Balancing Guideline (EB) — Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Microsoft opens its sustainable datacenter region in Sweden — Microsoft, 2021-11-16. Checked 2026-09-10.
- EcoDataCenter 1, Falun — EcoDataCenter, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Horndal, Sweden – Google Data Center Location — Google Data Centers, 2026-09-01. Checked 2026-09-11.
- New 300MW mega site in Sollefteå, Sweden — atNorth, 2026-02-23. Checked 2026-09-11.
- evroc finalizes land purchase in Arlandastad, Stockholm — evroc, 2025-02-03. Checked 2026-09-10.