Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: Sweden — Svenska kraftnät reserves and Ei tariff rules

Flexibility and ancillary services around a hall

Can this Swedish hall sell flexibility, or does the slide only show a flat load? Svenska kraftnät publishes named reserve products — FCR-N, FCR-D up, FCR-D down, aFRR, mFRR and the fast frequency reserve FFR — each with a prequalification path, a smallest bid and a role for a balancing-service provider. FCR-N is described as a symmetric product activated in the 49.90–50.10 Hz band, with a smallest bid of 0.1 MW and one-hour endurance at full activation, procured in two complementary day-ahead auctions. FFR is procured annually, historically needed mainly in May–October, and does not require the bidder to be a BSP. Those are TSO product pages. They are not evidence that a named Swedish data hall is prequalified. Ei’s Innovation Centre records that time-differentiated capacity charges under EIFS 2022:1 are not fully mandatory until 1 January 2027. A 2026 campus slogan about “flexible AI” is not a prequalification letter.

Utility transformers and a web of overhead power lines against a clear sky.
Photo Alivia Alva on Unsplash

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers testing a flexibility or reserve sentence attached to a Nordic hall or battery.

Reading order

Write the electrical object first. A hall that can curtail IT load, a cooling plant that can shed, a generator that can island, and a battery that can charge or discharge are different resources. Then write the market product you actually mean. FCR-N is not FCR-D. FFR is not mFRR. “Flexibility” is not a product. Svenska kraftnät’s product pages are the vocabulary. A slide that uses one word for all of them is not a file.

Then write the counterpart. For FCR, aFRR and mFRR, Svenska kraftnät says the party that wants to prequalify must cooperate with, be, or become a balancing-service provider after approved prequalification, and that a BSP must also be the balance-responsible party at the delivery point. FFR is classed as a remedial action and does not require BSP status, but it still needs annual supplier qualification, a tender and a passed prequalification of the resource.

Then write the paper class: enquiry, test, prequalification, contract, or delivered hour. “In dialogue with the TSO” is not a class. Fortum’s Kajaani battery sentence is a Finnish optimization agreement. It is not a Swedish FCR bid.

  • Resource type before product name.
  • BSP and BRP where the product requires them.
  • Prequalification letter versus a slogan.
  • Neighbour-country batteries kept in their own cell.

How the reserve file actually runs

Svenska kraftnät’s prequalification page publishes a table of smallest bids and smallest capacities that may be prequalified. FCR-D up, FCR-D down and FCR-N each show a smallest bid of 0.1 MW and a smallest prequalifiable capacity of 0.05 MW. FFR shows 0.5 MW and 0.05 MW. mFRR and aFRR show 1.0 MW bids, with mFRR also listing 1 MW on the energy-activation market. Those figures are TSO thresholds. They are not a finding that a Swedish hall has offered them.

FCR-N’s product page states automatic linear activation in 49.90–50.10 Hz, one-hour endurance at 100 percent activation, and two complementary day-ahead capacity auctions. Activated FCR-N energy is settled against mFRR up- and down-regulation prices as described there. Technical activation times sit in a separate FCR requirements document that this page does not reprint as a design specification for a hall. FFR’s page says historical analyses show need mainly in May–October, that Svenska kraftnät currently signs one-year contracts, that qualification and tenders run through e-Avrop, and that resources may be prequalified for a five-year period since 2022 while still needing an accepted annual tender to participate.

A data hall is a consumption object until someone proves a controllable resource. Curtailing IT load, shifting cooling, or cycling a battery can in principle become a resource. Principle is not prequalification. The network owner still owns the connection file. Ei’s tariff rule on time-differentiated capacity charges is a bill-shape incentive, not a reserve contract. Bidding areas SE1–SE4 remain wholesale-price context. They do not enrol a hall in FCR.

The BESS page holds the plant, the IKN question and the Finnish adjacency example. This page holds the market products. A campus that claims both still needs both folders.

What named primary sources show

Svenska kraftnät’s prequalification, FCR/aFRR/mFRR and FFR pages are the official product colour used here. They name BSP and BRP roles, smallest bids, FFR’s annual procurement and the May–October historical-need sentence. They do not publish a list of Swedish data halls that have passed. This register has not stored such a list.

Ei’s Innovation Centre tariff block, last updated 20 September 2024 in the fetched text, is the source for EIFS 2022:1’s time-differentiated capacity charge and the 1 January 2027 full-implementation date. The batteries block on the same Ei page is the source for RfG-not-yet-including-storage. Fortum’s 9 September 2026 notice remains a Finnish optimization-and-adjacency sentence, not a Swedish reserve register.

Operator campus pages used elsewhere in this register — atNorth SWE01, EcoDataCenter Falun, Meta Luleå, Microsoft’s 2021 region opening — are hall, power or opening sources. They are not prequalification letters. A hydropower sentence in Luleå is not an FCR offer.

Product versus slogan

Use Svenska kraftnät’s names. If the file cannot name the product, it cannot claim a reserve revenue. If it names the product but has no BSP path and no prequalification date, the commercial state is intended at most.

Tariff flexibility and reserve flexibility are different cells. A hall that shifts load against a time-differentiated capacity charge has not thereby sold FCR-N.

Claim on the slidePaper that would support itNot enough
We can sell FCR-NPrequalification + BSP/BRP at the pointA flat hall load
We can sell FFRAnnual e-Avrop path + passed testA May–October climate slogan
We are tariff-flexibleNamed network tariff and dated billSE1 hour as a product
Kajaani battery is our modelA Swedish plant paper of the same classA Finnish 94 MW sentence

Common misreads

The first misread is to treat a data hall as already a reserve because it has a large connection. The second is to treat smallest-bid figures as a promise that small halls will be accepted. The third is to treat FFR’s May–October historical-need sentence as a closed season. The fourth is to treat Ei’s 2027 tariff date as a reserve market. The fifth is to enrol a Swedish hall in FCR because a Finnish battery sits next to a Finnish hall.

What to ask next

Ask which named Svenska kraftnät product is intended, who the BSP and BRP would be, and whether any prequalification form has a date. Ask the network owner how activation would move the connection agreement. Ask whether the intended resource is IT curtailment, cooling, a generator or a battery — each has a different environmental and reliability file.

Then open the BESS page for the plant, the grid-queue page for the connection conversation, and the electricity-cost page for the tariff stack. If no product is named, record flexibility as a slogan.

  1. Named product, not “flexibility.”
  2. BSP/BRP path or an explicit FFR exception.
  3. Prequalification date or a marked gap.
  4. Resource type and meter point.
  5. Finnish examples kept out of the Swedish decision column.

What this does and does not prove

This page proves that Swedish reserve products have published names, roles and thresholds, and that this register has not stored a prequalified Swedish data hall. It proves that FFR and FCR are different doors, and that a 2027 tariff rule is not a reserve contract.

It does not prove that a hall can or cannot qualify. It does not reprint full technical requirement tables as design law. It does not treat Kajaani as a Swedish case. Unknown prequalifications stay unknown.

Sources

  1. Prequalification of reserves Svenska kraftnät (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  2. Contribute FCR, aFRR or mFRR Svenska kraftnät (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  3. Contribute FFR Svenska kraftnät (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  4. Frequency containment reserve — normal operation (FCR-N) Svenska kraftnät (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  5. Innovation Centre: selected questions — batteries, IKN and measurement Energimarknadsinspektionen, 2025-01-09. Checked 2026-09-12.
  6. Inside information: Fortum and Google partner to drive sustainable growth for Finland — sign nuclear Power Purchase Agreement Fortum, 2026-09-09. Checked 2026-09-12.
  7. Electricity bidding areas Energimarknadsinspektionen, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.

Related