Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: Sweden, Finland and Norway — electricity origin instruments; Swedish hall examples where sourced
Cross-border Nordic power-purchase structures (Sweden, Finland, Norway)
Can a Swedish hall buy Finnish or Norwegian generation as if the electron crossed the border in the contract, or have you only been handed a Nordic brand slide? Energimyndigheten’s EECS page says EECS guarantees of origin are international certificates that can be transferred between Association of Issuing Bodies members through the AIB hub, that Sweden has been a member since 2017, and that only EECS guarantees can be transferred via that hub. AIB’s registry table lists Energimyndigheten for Swedish electricity, Finextra for Finnish electricity and Statnett for Norwegian electricity. One guarantee still equals one produced megawatt-hour on Energimyndigheten’s ordinary guarantees page, already in this register. Ei’s residual-mix page publishes the 2025 Swedish residual mix as 57.81 percent renewable, 9.50 percent nuclear, 32.68 percent fossil and 208.6 grams of carbon dioxide per kilowatt-hour, and EIFS 2025:4 moves origin labelling from a Nordic residual mix to a Swedish residual mix from 1 February 2026. Fortum’s 22 June 2026 notice is a 10 megawatt SE3 hydropower PPA with EcoDataCenter for Falun, 2026 to 2030, with Dalälven guarantees of origin. Fortum’s 9 September 2026 inside-information notice is a 22-year Finnish nuclear PPA with Google for up to 50 percent of Loviisa from 2030 to 2049, starting smaller in 2028. Those are two contracts in two countries. They are not one Nordic electron and not a Horndal import. The parent renewable-versus-fossil-free page already owns the Swedish label vocabulary. This page only asks whether the cross-border instrument is named.

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers testing a Nordic, cross-border or multi-country power-purchase sentence on a Swedish hall file.
Reading order
Name the instrument before you name the country. A physical delivery obligation in one bidding area, a financial contract for difference against a Nord Pool area price, and a cancellation of guarantees of origin are three machines. Energimyndigheten’s EECS page is about the third machine when the certificate leaves Sweden or arrives from another AIB member. It is not a wire across the Torne river.
Then name the registries. AIB lists Energimyndigheten (Cesar) for Sweden, Finextra for Finland and Statnett for Norway as active electricity EECS registries on the hub. Fingrid’s Finextra page says Finnish guarantees can be exported or imported between AIB member registries via the hub, and that cancellation is the act that retires a guarantee so it cannot be used again. A Swedish account that cannot receive EECS certificates cannot complete that import. Energimyndigheten says an EECS account and an EECS code are required before a cross-border transfer.
Only then open the two named Nordic contracts already in this register. The Falun PPA is 10 megawatts in SE3, hydropower, Dalälven guarantees, 2026 to 2030. The Loviisa PPA is a Finnish nuclear share — up to 50 percent of that plant from 2030 to 2049, smaller from 2028 — plus a separate 94 megawatt battery memorandum next to Google’s Kajaani site. Do not add 10 megawatts to 50 percent of Loviisa and call the sum a Nordic hall envelope.
- Physical, financial and certificate legs before any flag.
- Cesar, Finextra and Statnett are three registries, not one Nordic wallet.
- Falun 10 MW and Loviisa 50 percent stay on two country rows.
- The parent labels page already owns residual-mix vocabulary.
What a cross-border structure actually is
A cross-border structure is a stack of papers that do different jobs. The hall still takes electricity from the Swedish system at a Swedish metering point in SE1, SE2, SE3 or SE4. Energimarknadsinspektionen’s bidding-area pages, already in this register, remain the wholesale-price door. A Finnish or Norwegian generator still injects in its own area. A contract can move money and certificates. It does not move the hall’s meter into another country.
Guarantees of origin are the transferable claim. Energimyndigheten issues one guarantee per produced megawatt-hour and says a guarantee can show, for example, renewable or fossil-free origin. EECS is the extra passport that lets that claim travel on the AIB hub. Energimyndigheten also writes that guarantees from some AIB members outside the EU and EEA — it names Switzerland and Serbia — cannot be used for Swedish origin labelling without a separate EU agreement. Norway is an EEA AIB member on the electricity list. That sentence is a recognition sentence. It is not a physical import.
Residual mix is what remains after guaranteed volumes are taken out. From 1 February 2026, EIFS 2025:4 tells Swedish origin labelling to use a Swedish residual mix, not a Nordic one. Ei’s 2025 mix is a national leftover, not a hall meter and not a Finnish nuclear share. Cancelling a Norwegian EECS guarantee on a Swedish supplier account changes the labelled mix. It does not change the bidding-area price the hall paid that hour.
The two Fortum contracts show the country split. Falun is a Swedish hydropower PPA with local guarantees for a named Swedish hall. Loviisa is a Finnish nuclear PPA that Fortum says gives revenue certainty to run that plant to 2050, enables a 10 megawatt increase on top of a planned 38 megawatt 2028 uprate, and sits beside a 94 megawatt battery memorandum in Kajaani. Google’s same-day Finnish campus envelope remains another row. None of those Finnish sentences is a Swedish connection offer.
What named primary sources show
Energimyndigheten’s EECS page shows membership since 2017, hub-only Swedish EECS transfers, the EECS-account duty and the Switzerland/Serbia labelling limit. AIB’s registry table shows Energimyndigheten, Finextra and Statnett as active electricity registries. Fingrid’s Finextra page shows hub export and import and cancellation as retirement. The ordinary guarantees page shows one certificate per megawatt-hour.
Ei’s residual-mix page shows the 2025 Swedish leftover mix. EIFS 2025:4 shows the 1 February 2026 move from a Nordic to a Swedish residual mix. Fortum’s 22 June 2026 notice shows the 10 megawatt SE3 Falun PPA. Fortum’s 9 September 2026 notice shows the Loviisa share, the 2028 start, the 10 and 38 megawatt uprate sentences and the 94 megawatt Kajaani battery memorandum. The parent labels page already owns the renewable-versus-fossil-free vocabulary.
A matrix instead of one Nordic electron
The table is a permission table. A filled cell is a claim the named URL can carry. An empty cell means this page will not invent the missing physical import.
Do not add a cancelled Norwegian guarantee to a Finnish nuclear share and a Swedish hall meter and call the sum a cross-border electron. Those remain different objects.
| Source | What that URL can show | What this page will not invent |
|---|---|---|
| Energimyndigheten EECS page | AIB member since 2017; hub-only EECS transfers; EECS account and code; Switzerland/Serbia labelling limit | A wire that moves the hall meter to Finland or Norway |
| AIB registry table / Finextra transactions page | Energimyndigheten, Finextra and Statnett as active electricity registries; hub export/import; cancellation retires a GO | One Nordic wallet; a physical import |
| Ei residual mix / EIFS 2025:4 | 2025 leftover 57.81 / 9.50 / 32.68% and 208.6 g CO₂/kWh; Swedish residual mix from 1 February 2026 | That mix as a named hall meter; a Nordic leftover after 1 February 2026 |
| Fortum–EcoDataCenter 22 June 2026 | 10 MW SE3 hydropower PPA, 2026–2030, Dalälven GOs | A Finnish or Norwegian delivery |
| Fortum–Google Loviisa 9 September 2026 | 22-year Finnish nuclear PPA; up to 50% 2030–2049; smaller from 2028; 10 MW on top of 38 MW 2028 uprate; 94 MW Kajaani battery MoU | A Swedish connection; those MW as Horndal IT load |
Common misreads
The first misread is to treat a cancelled EECS guarantee as a physical import into the hall. The certificate is a claim about production. The meter is still Swedish. The second is to treat EIFS 2025:4 as if Nordic residual mix still labelled a Swedish supplier after 1 February 2026. The regulation moves the leftover to Sweden. The third is to add Falun’s 10 megawatts to 50 percent of Loviisa.
The fourth is to treat the 94 megawatt Kajaani battery memorandum as a Swedish flexibility contract. The fifth is to treat Switzerland’s AIB listing as a usable Swedish origin label. Energimyndigheten names the missing EU agreement. The sixth is to treat a financial contract against a Finnish area price as a hedge that removes SE3 basis risk from a Falun hall.
What to ask next
If a brief prints a Nordic power-purchase for a Swedish hall, ask which leg is physical, which is financial and which is a cancelled guarantee — and which registry holds the account. If the URL only shows a brand slide or a Finnish campus envelope, the brief has already left the source.
Then open the parent renewable-versus-fossil-free page, the electricity-areas page and the electricity-costs page. Those pages already own the Swedish labels, the bidding-area door and the bill components. This page only asks whether the cross-border instrument is named.
- Is the hall meter still in a named Swedish bidding area?
- Which registry — Cesar, Finextra or Statnett — holds the EECS account?
- Has anyone added Falun 10 MW to a Loviisa percentage?
- Is a cancelled GO being treated as a physical import?
- Has a Nordic electron been invented?
What this does and does not prove
This page proves that Energimyndigheten, AIB and Finextra already publish a certificate path between Sweden, Finland and Norway, and that two named Fortum contracts sit in two countries. It proves that EIFS 2025:4 moves Swedish origin labelling onto a Swedish residual mix from 1 February 2026.
It does not prove that a Swedish hall imported a Finnish or Norwegian electron. It does not invent a single Nordic power-purchase form. It does not treat a cancelled guarantee as a meter reading.
Empty cells stay empty. Until a later primary source names a Swedish hall’s physical, financial and certificate legs with dated papers and a boundary, the structure stays a method, not a census.
Sources
- EECS guarantees of origin for electricity — Energimyndigheten (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- EECS registries — Association of Issuing Bodies (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Transactions in electricity guarantees of origin — Fingrid / Finextra (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- About guarantees of origin — Energimyndigheten (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Electricity origin labelling — Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Residual mix — Energimarknadsinspektionen, 2026-05-27. Checked 2026-09-12.
- New regulations on electricity origin labelling — in force from 1 February 2026 — Energimarknadsinspektionen, 2025-12-12. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Electricity bidding areas — Energimarknadsinspektionen, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Fortum and EcoDataCenter in a new collaboration — Fortum, 2026-06-22. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Inside information: Fortum and Google partner to drive sustainable growth for Finland — sign nuclear Power Purchase Agreement — Fortum, 2026-09-09. Checked 2026-09-12.