Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: Sweden — named reserve products and one dated backup-replacement press release

Battery versus diesel peak shaving — backup is not a reserve product

Is the battery shaving a bill peak, selling a reserve, or only replacing diesel backup? Saft’s 4 October 2023 press release says the company delivered a battery energy-storage system to replace diesel backup generators at Microsoft’s sustainable data center in Sweden. The system entered operation in June 2023. The release does not name a municipality. It describes four groups of 4 MWh each for up to 80 minutes of backup energy, eight Intensium Max 20 High Energy containers organised in four independent groups, and a peak power rating of 3 MW for each group. Saft also writes that the system supports grid stability and provides black-start capability. Those are issuer sentences about backup replacement. They are not a published FCR prequalification and not a named Swedish peak-shave megawatt. Microsoft’s 2030 diesel-free goal, quoted in the same release, is a target year. It is not proof that every Swedish hall was diesel-free in 2023. The BESS page already owns the plant-versus-grid split. The flexibility page already owns FCR-N, FCR-D, aFRR, mFRR and FFR. The backup-fuel pages already own cistern and Seveso clocks. This page only asks which published operating case the peak-shave slogan is actually sitting on.

Utility transformers and a web of overhead power lines against a clear sky.
Photo Alivia Alva on Unsplash

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers testing a peak-shave, backup-battery or “diesel-free, therefore flexible” sentence on a Swedish hall file.

Reading order

Name the operating case before you name the box. Backup through a grid outage, a scheduled generator test, bill-peak shaving behind the meter, and a prequalified reserve product are four cases. Saft’s 2023 release describes the first of those: diesel backup replacement, up to 80 minutes, four independent groups. It does not publish a Swedish peak-shave hour. Do not paste “grid stability” onto an FCR-N auction.

Then name the counterpart. A network owner seeing a behind-the-meter battery, Svenska kraftnät seeing a prequalification request, and a municipal environmental office seeing a diesel cistern are three desks. The flexibility page already says FCR, aFRR and mFRR need a balancing-service provider after approved prequalification. FFR still needs qualification and a tender. Peak shaving against a time-differentiated capacity charge is, on Ei’s Innovation Centre page, a tariff conversation with a 1 January 2027 full-implementation date under EIFS 2022:1. A tariff is not a reserve contract.

Then keep the diesel file on its own row. The backup-generation and backup-fuel-logistics pages already own LBE, MSB cistern rules and Seveso. A diesel hour used to shave a peak is a different operating case from a test or an emergency run. This page does not invent that hour for a named Swedish hall. Empty cells stay empty.

  • Backup, test, peak shave or reserve product — pick one case.
  • Saft 2023 is backup replacement in unnamed-municipality Sweden.
  • FCR is not peak shaving.
  • The backup-fuel pages already own the cistern clock.

What each clock actually measures

Saft’s 4 October 2023 letterhead is useful here because it is specific and because it refuses a municipality. Microsoft’s sustainable data center in Sweden, in operation June 2023, four groups of 4 MWh, up to 80 minutes, eight Intensium Max 20 High Energy containers, four independent groups, 3 MW peak per group, 16 months of deployment, a March 2021 TotalEnergies–Microsoft collaboration. Those units stay attached. They do not become a Gävle, Sandviken or Staffanstorp pin on this page. The 2023 release does not name those municipalities.

“Supports grid stability” and “black start” stay Saft’s words. They are not a Svenska kraftnät reservation and not a prequalification letter. The flexibility page already publishes smallest bids: 0.1 MW for FCR-N and FCR-D, 0.5 MW for FFR, 1.0 MW for aFRR and mFRR. Those are TSO thresholds. They are not a finding that the Microsoft Sweden battery has offered them. Do not average 3 MW peak and 80 minutes into a third invented peak-shave product.

Microsoft’s 2030 diesel-free goal remains a goal. The same release calls the June 2023 operation a milestone on that path. A milestone is not a 2023 census of Swedish halls. Microsoft’s 2021 Sweden-region text, already used on the backup-fuel pages, describes a renewable-blend fuel choice for generators. Fuel is not a battery. A 2021 fuel sentence and a 2023 backup-replacement sentence are two papers.

Peak shaving against a capacity charge is a bill-shape case. Ei’s Innovation Centre records that time-differentiated capacity charges under EIFS 2022:1 are not fully mandatory until 1 January 2027. That date is a tariff clock. It is not a diesel test hour and not an FCR auction. This register has not stored a sourced Swedish hall peak-shave megawatt. The cell stays empty.

What named primary sources show

Saft’s 4 October 2023 release remains the dated quantitative source on the Microsoft Sweden backup-replacement battery. Keep Sweden, June 2023, four times 4 MWh, 80 minutes, eight containers, four groups and 3 MW peak per group attached. Do not add a municipality the release does not print.

Svenska kraftnät’s product and prequalification pages remain the reserve-product stack. Ei’s Innovation Centre remains the battery-and-tariff stack. Microsoft’s 2021 backup-fuel text remains a fuel paper. The BESS page remains the plant-versus-connection page. None of those sources, in the files used here, publishes a Swedish hall peak-shave megawatt.

Named Swedish halls stay on their own papers. This page will not pin the 2023 battery to Gävle, Sandviken or Staffanstorp from a letterhead that only says Sweden.

A matrix instead of a diesel-free slogan

Draw one page with case rows and evidence columns. Backup replacement, diesel test, bill-peak shave and named reserve product are different rows. Press release, prequalification letter, tariff paper and cistern permit are different columns. Empty cells stay empty. An 80-minute backup sentence is a backup footnote, not a peak-shave column.

Do not invent a Swedish peak-shave league table from Saft’s 3 MW group rating, from FCR’s 0.1 MW smallest bid, or from the 2030 diesel-free goal. Those remain different objects from different years and methods.

ObjectWhat a source can showWhat this page will not invent
Backup-replacement BESSSaft 4 Oct 2023: Sweden, June 2023, 4×4 MWh, 80 minA municipality pin
Group peakSaft: 3 MW peak per independent groupA national peak-shave MW
Reserve productSVK: FCR / aFRR / mFRR / FFR plus prequalificationA hall FCR letter
Capacity-charge clockEi: EIFS 2022:1 fully mandatory 1 Jan 2027A diesel test hour

Common misreads

The first misread is to treat Saft’s backup-replacement battery as proof of Swedish peak shaving. The release describes outage backup. The second is to treat “grid stability” as an FCR contract. The third is to pin the unnamed Sweden site to Gävle, Sandviken or Staffanstorp.

The fourth is to treat the 2030 diesel-free goal as a 2023 hall census. The fifth is to treat a diesel cistern permit as a peak-shave licence. The sixth is to treat Ei’s 2027 tariff date as a reserve product. The seventh is to use a groundbreaking slogan as proof that the battery is already prequalified.

What to ask next

Ask which operating case the battery or the diesel set is actually sized for — outage backup, test, bill peak or a named reserve product. Ask which letterhead has received a paper. Ask whether anyone is using Saft’s 80-minute sentence as a peak-shave hour. Ask which municipality, if any, a later primary source actually prints.

Then open the BESS page, the flexibility page and the backup-fuel pages. If the operator will not name the case and the desk, record the gap. Do not fill it from a diesel-free slide.

  1. Is the live paper backup, peak shave or a reserve product?
  2. Has Saft 2023 been given a municipality the release does not print?
  3. Has “grid stability” been treated as FCR?
  4. Has a 2030 goal been treated as a 2023 census?
  5. Has a data-hall peak-shave megawatt been invented?

What this does and does not prove

This page proves that a dated 2023 press release already describes a Microsoft Sweden backup-replacement battery with published megawatt-hour and minute units, and that those units are not a Svenska kraftnät reserve product or a sourced Swedish peak-shave megawatt.

It does not prove that a named Swedish hall peak-shaves. It does not invent a municipality. It does not treat black start as a prequalification letter.

Empty cells stay empty. Until a later primary source names a Swedish hall’s peak-shave case with a dated operating hour and a counterpart, the battery-versus-diesel clock stays a method, not a census.

Sources

  1. Saft delivers Battery Energy Storage System (BESS) replacement for diesel-powered backup at Microsoft data center Saft, 2023-10-04. Checked 2026-09-12.
  2. Progress on our commitment to sustainable backup power in datacenters by 2030 Microsoft, 2021-06-01. Checked 2026-09-12.
  3. Contribute FCR, aFRR or mFRR Svenska kraftnät (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  4. Frequency containment reserve — normal operation (FCR-N) Svenska kraftnät (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  5. Contribute FFR Svenska kraftnät (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  6. Prequalification of reserves Svenska kraftnät (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
  7. Innovation Centre: selected questions — batteries, IKN and measurement Energimarknadsinspektionen, 2025-01-09. Checked 2026-09-12.
  8. Electricity Act (1997:857) Sveriges riksdag (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.

Related