Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: Sweden — LBE, cistern rules and Seveso; operator fuel blends as contrast only
Backup-fuel logistics — LBE, cistern and Seveso on separate rows
Is the standby fuel a Preem blend sentence, a tank on the plot, or a logistics file that actually opens a permit? The backup-generation page already owns Microsoft’s 2021 Preem Evolution Diesel Plus design sentences for Gävle, Sandviken and Staffanstorp — at least 50 percent renewable raw material — and it already refuses to treat those sentences as a national fuel statute. This page opens the logistics stack. The Act (2010:1011) on flammable and explosive goods, section 16, says anyone who professionally or in larger quantity handles flammable goods shall have a permit. Myndigheten för civilt försvar’s permit page, applying MSBFS 2013:3, writes the exemption table: in professional non-public activity the outdoor threshold for flammable liquids with flash point 60–100 °C is 50,000 litres, and the indoor threshold is 10,000 litres; gas oils, diesel and light fuel oils with flash point 55–60 °C sit in that same column. Outdoor includes buried tanks and pipelines. Naturvårdsverket’s NFS 2021:10, in force 1 January 2022, is a different paper: information to the supervisory authority, and inside a water-protection area secondary protection and control of that protection. Inside such an area the rules apply above 150 litres in tanks or portable containers; outside them they apply above 1 cubic metre in tanks. Section 4 of those regulations says they do not apply to transports covered by MSBFS 2018:5 (ADR-S). Seveso is a third paper. Ordinance (2015:236) annex 1 names petroleum products and alternative fuels, including gas oils (diesel fuels, light fuel oils and blending components), at 2,500 tonnes for the lower requirement level and 25,000 tonnes for the higher. Those are three letterheads. They are not a tanker week and not a Preem invoice.

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers testing a tanker, a tank volume or a “green diesel” sentence on a Swedish standby file.
Reading order
Start with the object, not with a green blend. Write whether the live paper is a tank on the plot, a portable container, a delivery on the public road, or only a supplier contract. The backup-generation page already owns the fuel-type cell for one operator region. This page keeps the logistics objects named because a 50 percent renewable-raw-material sentence pasted onto a 50,000-litre threshold invents a third clock.
Then name the LBE desk. Section 16 of the 2010 Act opens a permit for professional or larger-quantity handling. MCF’s table, applying MSBFS 2013:3, writes the 50,000-litre outdoor and 10,000-litre indoor exemptions for the 60–100 °C column, and it puts diesel with flash point 55–60 °C in that column. Outdoor includes buried tanks. A professional non-public generator yard is not a public filling station just because a fence exists; MCF writes that public activity is activity intended to be open to the public, and that a fence is not decisive. Ask the municipal rescue service which cell the yard actually sits in. Do not invent the cell from a brochure.
Only then open the environmental cistern paper and the Seveso paper. NFS 2021:10 is information to the supervisory authority and, inside a water-protection area, secondary protection. The 150-litre and 1-cubic-metre thresholds are different from the LBE 50,000-litre exemption. Section 4 sends road transport to ADR-S. Seveso’s 2,500-tonne and 25,000-tonne bars for gas oils including diesel are a third scale, in tonnes, with a summation rule if several substances sit on the same site. Myndigheten för civilt försvar writes that the lower level applies when the quantity at any moment reaches the lower bar. A hall tank that is far below 2,500 tonnes is not automatically a Seveso establishment. A hall tank that is above 50,000 litres outdoor diesel is not automatically free of an LBE permit.
- Name tank, portable container or road delivery before any green blend.
- Keep the LBE 50,000-litre outdoor diesel cell off the NFS 150-litre water-protection cell.
- Seveso’s 2,500-tonne bar is tonnes, not litres.
- The backup-generation page already owns the Preem design sentence.
What a fuel-logistics cell actually is
An LBE cell is a fire-and-explosion permit around handling, not a carbon sentence. The 2010 Act’s purpose is to prevent and limit accidents and damage from fire or explosion. MCF’s table is an exemption from that permit duty, not a finding that the yard is safe. Quantities are counted separately by column. A buried tank is outdoor. A professional non-public yard can still need a permit once the outdoor diesel column exceeds 50,000 litres. Ask the rescue service with the design litres attached.
An NFS 2021:10 cell is a soil-and-water paper. It requires information to the supervisory authority and, inside a water-protection area, secondary protection and control of that protection. Naturvårdsverket’s guidance page writes that the 2021 rules replaced NFS 2017:5 on 1 January 2022, widened the scope to portable containers, and lowered a volume limit from 250 litres to 150 litres. A functional requirement for secondary protection replaced an absolute bunding rule for above-ground tanks. Those are environmental cells. They are not an LBE permit and not a Seveso establishment.
A transport cell is excluded from NFS 2021:10 when ADR-S applies. That sentence is a door label. This page will not invent a UN number, a tunnel code or a delivery-week count. A supplier contract that says “we deliver” is not an ADR paper and not a tank permit.
A Seveso cell is a major-accident paper in tonnes. Ordinance (2015:236) annex 1, point 34 c, writes gas oils including diesel fuels at 2,500 and 25,000 tonnes. MCF writes that the lower level applies when the quantity at any moment reaches the lower bar, and that a summation rule can still pull a site in if several substances sit below their own bars. The backup-generation page’s Preem sentence does not fill a tonne cell. A renewable raw-material share is not a Seveso exemption.
What named primary sources show
The 2010 Act shows the permit duty in section 16 and the fire-and-explosion purpose. MCF’s permit page and MSBFS 2013:3 show the 50,000-litre outdoor and 10,000-litre indoor exemptions and the diesel flash-point footnote. NFS 2021:10 and Naturvårdsverket’s cistern guidance show the information duty, the 150-litre and 1-cubic-metre thresholds, the water-protection secondary-protection rule and the ADR-S exclusion.
Ordinance (2015:236) and MCF’s Seveso page show the 2,500- and 25,000-tonne gas-oil bars and the summation idea. Microsoft’s 2021 pages remain the fuel-type contrast already owned on the backup-generation page. The Civil Protection Act remains the fire-and-rescue desk on the sister fire guide.
Related pages already in this register: backup generation and fuel storage, fire suppression and insurance, discharge permits, and on-site generation versus grid. Operator news is not used here as a tanker week.
A matrix instead of one tanker week
The table is a permission table. A filled cell is a claim the named URL can carry. An empty cell means this page will not invent the missing hall tanker week or the missing data-centre fuel chapter.
Do not add 50,000 litres to 150 litres and 2,500 tonnes and call the sum a Swedish hall fuel clock. Those remain different objects from different letterheads.
| Source | What that URL can show | What this page will not invent |
|---|---|---|
| LBE (2010:1011) § 16 / MSBFS 2013:3 / MCF table | Permit duty for professional or larger handling; outdoor 50,000 L and indoor 10,000 L exemptions in the 60–100 °C column; diesel 55–60 °C in that column; buried tanks count as outdoor | A hall tanker week; that a fence makes the yard public |
| NFS 2021:10 / NV cistern guidance | Information to the supervisory authority; 150 L inside a water-protection area; 1 m³ outside in tanks; secondary protection inside WPA; in force 1 January 2022; ADR-S transports excluded | Those litres as an LBE permit |
| Seveso ordinance (2015:236) annex 1 / MCF | Gas oils including diesel: 2,500 t lower level, 25,000 t higher; quantity at any moment; summation rule | A litre conversion invented here; a Preem exemption |
| Microsoft 2021 backup-fuel pages | A dated Preem Evolution Diesel Plus design sentence, ≥50 percent renewable raw material, three municipalities | A national fuel statute; a tank cubic metre |
| Civil Protection Act / fire page | Owner responsibility and rescue-service desk already owned elsewhere | A green blend as a closed fire file |
Common misreads
The first misread is to treat Microsoft’s Preem sentence as an LBE permit. A blend is a fuel-type cell. The second is to treat 50,000 litres as a Seveso bar. Seveso is in tonnes. The third is to treat the NFS 150-litre water-protection threshold as the LBE outdoor exemption.
The fourth is to treat a fenced yard as public, or an open yard as automatically non-public. MCF writes that purpose, not the fence, decides. The fifth is to treat an ADR-S delivery as an NFS cistern paper. Section 4 sends that transport elsewhere. The sixth is to treat a renewable raw-material share as a Seveso or LBE exemption.
What to ask next
If a brief prints one Swedish fuel week, ask which named URL uses that week for an LBE permit, an NFS information filing, an ADR-S delivery or a Seveso tonne bar. If the URL only shows a renewable-raw-material share or a company groundbreaking date, the brief has already left the source.
Then open the backup-generation page, the fire page and the on-site-generation page. Those pages already own the fuel-type cell, the rescue-service desk and the production-versus-standby split. This page only asks whether the logistics bars stay on their own rows.
- Is the live paper a tank, a portable container or a road delivery?
- Which threshold is in play — 50,000 L LBE, 150 L NFS or 2,500 t Seveso?
- Has a Preem blend been treated as a permit?
- Has a litre cell been added to a tonne cell?
- Has a data-hall fuel chapter been invented?
What this does and does not prove
This page proves that Swedish primary sources already publish an LBE permit duty with a 50,000-litre outdoor diesel exemption, an NFS 2021:10 information and water-protection paper, and Seveso gas-oil bars at 2,500 and 25,000 tonnes, and that those bars are not a Preem design sentence.
It does not prove how many litres a named Swedish hall stores. It does not invent a tanker week. It does not convert tonnes to litres.
Empty cells stay empty. Until a later primary source names a Swedish hall’s fuel logistics with a dated volume and a boundary, the stack stays a method, not a census.
Sources
- Act (2010:1011) on flammable and explosive goods — Sveriges riksdag, 2010-07-01. Checked 2026-09-12.
- MSBFS 2013:3 — permits for handling flammable gases and liquids — Myndigheten för civilt försvar, 2013-10-01. Checked 2026-09-12.
- About permits for flammable goods — Myndigheten för civilt försvar (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- NFS 2021:10 — protection against soil and water pollution from flammable liquids and waste oils — Naturvårdsverket, 2021-11-25. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Flammable liquids and waste oils in tanks and portable containers — Naturvårdsverket (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Act (1999:381) on measures to prevent and limit the consequences of serious chemical accidents — Sveriges riksdag, 1999-05-27. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Ordinance (2015:236) on measures to prevent and limit the consequences of serious chemical accidents — Sveriges riksdag, 2015-04-30. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Who do the Seveso rules apply to? — Myndigheten för civilt försvar (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Microsoft opens its sustainable datacenter region in Sweden — Microsoft, 2021-11-16. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Progress on our commitment to sustainable backup power in datacenters by 2030 — Microsoft, 2021-06-01. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Civil Protection Act (2003:778) — Sveriges riksdag (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Environmental assessment and permits — Naturvårdsverket, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.