Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: Sweden — Stockholm dark-fibre wholesale; PTS market papers as draft contrast
Dark fibre versus lit capacity on a Swedish campus
Is the Swedish campus buying a dark pair it will light itself, or have you only been handed a “fibre is fibre” slide? Stokab’s role page, already in this register, says the City of Stockholm’s mission is to build and lease dark fibre on equal terms, and that Stokab only supplies dark fibre — a passive fibre connection — which becomes a broadband service only when an operator connects active equipment. Stokab’s business-model page writes that it is an independent provider of passive infrastructure with no active termination equipment, that the fixed monthly fee for a connection is the same regardless of the capacity set in the customer’s equipment, and that more than 100 operators and service providers sit on the network. The Point to Point page writes a fibre pair between two customer-chosen ODFs, with the monthly fee based on the shortest linear distance as the crow flies, while Stokab chooses the physical route. Those are wholesale dark-fibre sentences for Stockholm. They are not a lit wavelength and not a hall price. Post- och telestyrelsen’s 20 March 2026 consultation on wholesale local access — market 1 — treats that market as separate from the Commission’s recommended market 2, dedicated capacity in the wholesale layer. A 20 March 2026 draft decision for Telia writes a backhaul obligation first as dark fibre (svartfiber) and only second as optical wavelength or digital connection capacity. Those draft sentences are a consultation paper. They are not a final SMP decision and not a Kista cross-connect quote. The meet-me-rooms page already owns city exchanges. The inland-backhaul page already owns coverage maps. This page only asks whether the dark pair and the lit service stay on separate rows.

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers testing a fibre, wavelength or “on-net” sentence on a Swedish campus or colo file.
Reading order
Start with the object, not with a logo. Write whether the live paper is a dark fibre pair the customer lights, an optical wavelength on someone else’s active kit, a digital Ethernet or SDH capacity service, or only a meet-me cross-connect inside a hall. Stokab’s role and business-model pages fill the first of those objects for Stockholm: wholesale-only dark fibre, no active termination equipment, equal terms. They do not fill a wavelength product. The meet-me page already owns Netnod city exchanges. This page will not reprint those rooms as a dark pair.
Then name who lights the fibre. Stokab writes that the operator or the customer activates the connection with their own equipment, or buys capacity from one of the more than 100 operators already on the network. A dark pair and a capacity purchase from an on-net operator are two papers. The monthly fee Stokab publishes is independent of the capacity the customer sets. That sentence is a dark-fibre pricing rule. It is not a lit-service tariff and not a hall invoice.
Only then open the PTS papers, and open them as drafts. The 20 March 2026 missiv says the consultation is about wholesale local access via a fixed connection point — market 1 — and that the Commission’s recommendation now names two markets that may justify ex-ante regulation: market 1 and market 2, dedicated capacity in the wholesale layer. The accompanying analysis repeats that split. A Telia draft of the same date writes backhaul first as dark fibre, second as optical wavelength or digital capacity. A draft is a consultation. It is not a final obligation on a named hall, and it is not a Stokab price.
- Name dark pair, wavelength or digital capacity before any logo.
- Keep Stokab’s capacity-independent monthly fee off a lit tariff.
- A PTS market-1 draft is a consultation, not a hall quote.
- The meet-me page already owns city exchanges.
What a dark pair actually is
A dark pair is a passive fibre the customer or an operator lights. Stokab’s business-model page writes that leasing only passive fibre is often called the Stokab model, that the company does not compete with its customers, and that the model is reflected in more than 100 operators and service providers on the network. The Point to Point page writes that the pair is yours to use as if it were your own, that the product can be ordered in the City of Stockholm, surrounding municipalities and around Lake Mälaren, and that a unique access point can include 50 metres of in-house cabling. Those are product sentences. They are not a redundancy certificate until a second diverse route is actually written.
A lit service is a different machine. Optical wavelength and digital connection capacity sit on someone else’s active equipment. PTS’s Telia draft, labelled as a draft, writes them as the second-choice backhaul forms after dark fibre. That order is a proposed access obligation in a consultation. It is not a finding that every Swedish campus can buy a wavelength tomorrow, and it is not a Stokab catalogue.
Market 1 and market 2 stay apart. PTS’s March 2026 analysis writes that the Commission recommendation now contains two recommended markets: wholesale local access via a fixed connection point (market 1, the market in that paper) and dedicated capacity in the wholesale layer (market 2). Local access to a fibre access network is not dedicated capacity. A campus dark pair in Stockholm is closer to the Stokab wholesale object than to a household access market. Do not treat a market-1 consultation as a campus price list.
Coverage maps stay on the inland-backhaul page. PTS’s mobile-coverage and broadband mapping, already in this register, is a household and mobile paper. It is not a dark-pair invoice and not a wavelength availability list for Falun or Sollefteå.
What named primary sources show
Stokab’s role, business-model, product-range and Point to Point pages show wholesale-only dark fibre, the capacity-independent monthly fee, the more-than-100-operator sentence, the crow-flies fee rule and the 50-metre in-house option. They do not show a wavelength tariff or a hall price.
PTS’s 20 March 2026 missiv and market-1 analysis show a consultation that keeps market 1 apart from dedicated-capacity market 2. The Telia draft shows a proposed backhaul order: dark fibre first, then optical wavelength or digital capacity. Those remain drafts.
Related pages already in this register: connectivity hub, inland backhaul, meet-me rooms in three cities. Operator news for a named hall is not used here as a fibre invoice.
A matrix instead of one fibre price
The table is a permission table. A filled cell is a claim the named URL can carry. An empty cell means this page will not invent the missing hall fibre price or a final SMP decision.
Do not add a Stokab dark pair to a PTS draft wavelength sentence and call the sum a Swedish campus fibre product. Those remain different objects from different letterheads.
| Source | What that URL can show | What this page will not invent |
|---|---|---|
| Stokab role / business model | Wholesale-only dark fibre; no active termination kit; equal terms; monthly fee independent of customer-set capacity; >100 operators | A wavelength tariff; a hall invoice |
| Stokab Point to Point / products | A dedicated fibre pair between two ODFs; crow-flies monthly fee; Stokab chooses the physical route; 50 m in-house option | A diverse-route certificate without a second path |
| PTS 20 March 2026 missiv and analysis | Consultation on market 1; Commission recommendation also names market 2 (dedicated wholesale capacity) | A final SMP decision; a campus price list |
| PTS Telia draft, 20 March 2026 | Proposed backhaul: dark fibre first, then optical wavelength or digital capacity | A live obligation on a named hall |
| Meet-me / inland-backhaul pages | City exchanges and coverage maps already owned elsewhere | A dark pair as a Netnod port |
Common misreads
The first misread is to treat Stokab’s dark pair as a lit broadband service. The role page says the service appears only when someone connects active equipment. The second is to treat the capacity-independent monthly fee as a wavelength price. The third is to treat “more than 100 operators” as a guarantee that your hall is on-net.
The fourth is to treat a PTS market-1 draft as a final decision. The fifth is to treat market 1 household access as a campus dark-pair market. The sixth is to treat a meet-me room as a dark pair, or a coverage map as a wavelength.
What to ask next
If a brief prints one Swedish fibre price, ask which named URL uses that price for a dark pair, a wavelength, a digital capacity service or a meet-me cross-connect. If the URL only shows a household coverage share or a company on-net slogan, the brief has already left the source.
Then open the connectivity hub, the inland-backhaul page and the meet-me page. Those pages already own the question list, the coverage maps and the city exchanges. This page only asks whether the dark pair and the lit service stay on their own rows.
- Is the live paper a dark pair, a wavelength or a digital capacity service?
- Who lights the fibre — the customer or an on-net operator?
- Has a Stokab monthly fee been treated as a lit tariff?
- Has a PTS draft been treated as a final SMP decision?
- Has a meet-me room been treated as a dark pair?
What this does and does not prove
This page proves that Stokab already publishes a wholesale-only dark-fibre model with a capacity-independent monthly fee, and that PTS’s March 2026 consultation keeps market 1 apart from dedicated-capacity market 2 and, in a Telia draft, writes dark fibre before wavelength or digital capacity.
It does not prove a Swedish hall fibre price. It does not treat a draft as a final decision. It does not invent an on-net list.
Empty cells stay empty. Until a later primary source names a Swedish hall’s dark pair or lit service with a dated contract and a boundary, the split stays a method, not a census.
Sources
- Stokab — open fibre network in Stockholm — Stokab (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Stokab’s role in Stockholm’s fibre infrastructure — Stokab (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Business model — Stokab (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Stokab Point to Point — Stokab (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Product range — Stokab (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Consultation cover letter — wholesale local access (market 1), 20 March 2026 — Post- och telestyrelsen, 2026-03-20. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Market analysis — wholesale local access via a fixed connection point (market 1) — Post- och telestyrelsen, 2026-03-20. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Draft decision — Telia Company AB, market 1 — Post- och telestyrelsen, 2026-03-20. Checked 2026-09-12.
- PTS mobile-coverage and broadband mapping — Post- och telestyrelsen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Netnod IX Stockholm — Netnod (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.