Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: Operator and industry contract patterns; Swedish examples where sourced
Retail colocation versus wholesale contracts
Are you buying a cabinet in a shared hall, or a dedicated suite with a negotiated power wrapper? Those are different Swedish files. Equinix’s 27 August 2020 blog, updated 26 June 2024, says retail colocation is when you are one customer among many, typically renting racks, cages or cabinets with shared power, cooling and security, and that retail space is offered via a monthly service contract typically lasting 12, 24 or 36 months. Wholesale, the same page says, is significant space dedicated solely to your business, usually with the customer providing racks and staff, on a longer lease generally between 5 and 20 years. Uptime Institute’s 3 December 2025 note says retail customers purchase a small quantity of space and power, usually by the rack, on standardised contracts, while wholesale customers typically take at least a dedicated enclosed suite and negotiate price and terms, often preferring metered actual consumption. Digital Realty’s PlatformDIGITAL colocation page lists high-density colo, move-in-ready suites, build-to-suit and Powered Base Buildings as a product family. Those are operator and industry sentences. They are not a Swedish cabinet price and not a signed Stockholm wholesale megawatt. Conapto’s 24 June 2026 notice with CoreWeave is a dated Swedish colocation agreement. It is still not a national contract form.

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Nordic buyers comparing a shared cabinet contract with a wholesale suite.
Reading order
Name the commercial object before you name the building. A retail cabinet, a private cage, a wholesale suite and a build-to-suit hall answer different questions about who holds the cooling, fire and network-owner files. The sister page on colocation versus build-to-suit already separates those wrappers from an owner-occupied campus. This page stays inside the colo family and asks how the contract is packed.
Then name what is contracted today. Conapto’s CoreWeave notice is a dated colo agreement. Equinix SK1 and SK2, Bahnhof’s colo and Pionen pages, Digital Realty’s Stockholm campus and STACK’s STO01 page are product or campus descriptions. Digital Realty’s suite and build-to-suit pages are global product language. Do not upgrade a product page into a signed Swedish wholesale deal.
Then walk the Swedish tracks that do not move when the wrapper word changes. Boverket’s planning sequence, the local network owner and Svenska kraftnät’s formal connection process still sit in the file. A retail cabinet does not adopt a detaljplan. A wholesale suite does not energize the plot.
- Wrapper packing before architecture.
- Contracted today versus marketed as available.
- Who holds plan, grid, water and fire files.
- No invented Swedish kilowatt price.
What the wrappers actually change
Equinix’s blog is useful because it names the packing, not a winner. Retail, it says, gives instant access to shared cables, racks, power, cooling, fire suppression and physical security, with little customisation of the space. Wholesale, it says, usually requires the customer to design and construct the space — including racks, cabinets and cables — and to staff it, in return for more control, on a longer lease. Those are Equinix product sentences from a global blog. They are not a Swedish statutory table and they are not a price list for SK1.
Uptime Institute’s December 2025 note adds a pricing-mechanism vocabulary without publishing a Swedish tariff. Retail, it says, typically charges a fixed fee based on maximum power and space, bundling capital recovery with variable power and cooling so the customer has little visibility of the parts. Wholesale, it says, is customised: some buyers pay for a fixed capacity whether used or not; others take a fixed space fee plus pass-through metered energy plus an agreed design-PUE “additional power” term. Uptime also notes that a provider may oversubscribe retail power, with operational risk if that causes degradation. Those are industry-mechanism sentences. They are not a signed Stockholm invoice.
Digital Realty’s colocation family page lists high-density colo, suites, services, build-to-suit and Powered Base Buildings. The suite page describes pre-commissioned, move-in-ready Turn-Key Flex modules that can be subdivided. The already-cited build-to-suit page is a global product description that does not, on that page, name a Swedish BTS contract. STACK’s STO01 campus page describes a multi-tenant Stockholm-metro site. None of those pages publishes a national wholesale megawatt census.
A Swedish establishment file still has to name the network owner, the detaljplan and the fire and water papers. Conapto’s 24 October 2025 notice adding 8 MW at Stockholm 4 South is a dated colo expansion sentence. It is not a wholesale form and not a BTS census. Owner-occupied files — Meta Luleå, Microsoft’s 2021 region, Google Horndal — stay outside this packing page.
What named primary sources show
Equinix’s Stockholm pages, including SK1 and SK2, support a published inner-market retail-colo pattern. Bahnhof’s colo and Pionen pages do the same for an inner-city hall. They do not publish a national cabinet census. Digital Realty’s six-hall Stockholm campus and STO1 page are campus descriptions. The suite, colo-family and build-to-suit pages are global product language.
Conapto’s 24 June 2026 CoreWeave notice remains the clearest dated Swedish colo agreement in this register. The 24 October 2025 8 MW Stockholm 4 South notice is a dated expansion sentence. STACK’s STO01 page states 18 MW, eight acres and one building. It does not, on that page, name the wrapper a future tenant will sign.
Uptime Institute’s 2025 note is industry mechanism, not a Swedish tariff. This page will not invent a Stockholm kronor-per-kilowatt figure from that note or from any reseller page.
A matrix instead of a winner
Draw one page with packing states in rows and evidence in columns. Retail cabinet, wholesale suite, build-to-suit and owner-occupied are different rows. Product page, dated agreement, campus megawatt and network-owner letter are different columns. Empty cells stay empty. A climate sentence is not a column.
Do not invent a Swedish colo price league from Equinix’s 12–36 month sentence, Uptime’s mechanism vocabulary or Digital Realty’s suite page.
| Wrapper | What a source can show | What this page will not invent |
|---|---|---|
| Retail colo | Equinix: shared hall, typically 12–36 months | A Swedish cabinet price |
| Wholesale suite | Uptime: dedicated suite, negotiated, often metered | A signed Stockholm wholesale MW |
| Build-to-suit | Digital Realty global product page | A named Swedish BTS contract |
| Dated colo deal | Conapto–CoreWeave 24 June 2026 | A national contract form |
Common misreads
The first misread is to treat Equinix’s 12–36 month and 5–20 year sentences as Swedish statutory terms. They are Equinix product language. The second is to invent a kronor-per-kilowatt figure. The third is to upgrade a suite brochure into a signed wholesale deal.
The fourth is to treat a campus megawatt as the tenant’s contracted IT load. The fifth is to collapse wholesale and build-to-suit into one word. The sixth is to assume the tenant holds the network-owner letter because the slide says “dedicated.”
What to ask next
Ask whether the object is a cabinet, a cage, a suite or a building, and whether the power term is a bundled maximum, reserved capacity plus metered energy, or something the operator has not yet named. Ask who holds the network-owner letter, the fire file and the water file. Ask for the dated agreement, not the brochure.
Then open the sister wrapper page, the types page and the grid-connection page. If the operator will not name the packing, record the gap. Do not fill it from a global blog.
- Cabinet, cage, suite or building named.
- Power term: bundled, reserved, metered or unnamed.
- Who holds grid, fire and water files.
- Product page versus dated agreement.
- No invented Swedish colo price.
What this does and does not prove
This page proves that retail and wholesale are packing words, not a Swedish winner. It proves that Equinix and Uptime Institute have published mechanism sentences, that Digital Realty publishes a product family, and that Conapto has published a dated Swedish colo agreement.
It does not prove a best Swedish wrapper. It does not publish a cabinet price, a wholesale megawatt census or a national form. It does not treat a suite brochure as a signed deal.
Unknown packing stays unknown. Point to the named source gap. Until a later primary source adds a dated Swedish wholesale contract with a named hall and a power term, the brochure stays a brochure.
Sources
- Hyperscale vs. colocation — Equinix, 2020-08-27. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Retail vs wholesale: finding the right colo pricing model — Uptime Institute, 2025-12-03. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Colocation on PlatformDIGITAL — Digital Realty (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Colocation data-center suites — Digital Realty (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Build-to-Suit data-center solutions — Digital Realty (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Stockholm STO1 — Digital Realty (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Digital Realty Stockholm data centers — Digital Realty, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Equinix Stockholm data centers — Equinix, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Equinix SK1 Stockholm — Equinix, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Equinix SK2 Stockholm — Equinix, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Bahnhof colocation and data centres in Sweden — Bahnhof, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Pionen — Bahnhof, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- STO01 — Stockholm — STACK Infrastructure (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- CoreWeave and Conapto announce a Swedish colocation agreement — Conapto, 2026-06-24. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Conapto expands Stockholm 4 South data center with 8 MW — Conapto, 2025-10-24. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Planning and Building Act guidance — Boverket, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.