Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: Sweden — District Heating Act and named municipal heat papers
District-heating offtake contracts — statute, product and delivery
Is a Swedish hall’s heat already sold, or have you only been shown a valve and a statute? The District Heating Act (2008:263) writes two different papers. Section 6 lists what a customer contract must contain — price, term, metering, termination. Sections 37 to 37 d write access for someone who wants to sell heat into the network: a duty to negotiate, then, if no agreement is reached, a regulated access that applies only to prime heat on the supply pipe, only if the plant is not already or previously connected for injection, and not if the heat company can show a risk of harm. A regulated-access contract is written as ten years. The applicant pays the connection investment. The company shall take heat to a reasonable extent and pay compensation equal to its benefit. Energimarknadsinspektionen is the dispute body, with a two-year clock after a written position. Stockholm Exergi’s Open District Heating pages remain a product, not that statute. The parent heat-reuse guide already owns the four delivery states and the named municipal counterparties. This page does not steal that matrix. It only asks which instrument is on the table.

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers who have been handed a Swedish heat-sale, offtake or Open District Heating sentence.
Reading order
Start with the direction of the heat, not with a climate slogan. Write whether the hall is buying district heat as a customer, selling residual heat into a named network, or only showing a prepared flange. Section 6 of the District Heating Act is the customer-contract paper. Sections 37 to 37 d are the producer-access paper. They are not the same inbox. Energimarknadsinspektionen’s customer-information page restates the section 6 list. It does not mint an offtake.
Then classify the access state. Section 37 is a duty to negotiate and, if talks fail, to give reasons. Section 37 a is regulated access, and only for prime heat on the supply pipe, only for a plant that is not already or previously connected for injection, and not where the company shows a risk of harm. Section 37 c writes ten years, the applicant’s connection investment, take-up to a reasonable extent, and compensation equal to the company’s benefit. Section 37 d sends disputes to the supervisory authority, with a two-year cut-off after a written position. A slide that says “the Act gives us offtake” without those cells has left the statute.
Only then open the named product and delivery rows the parent already owns. Exergi’s Open District Heating pages describe a product and name a 2021 first contract with Conapto, heat pumps from about 30 °C toward about 70 °C, and a Sätra hall with capacity to recover up to 10 megawatts. GleSYS’s 1 October 2020 notice remains the dated delivery start outside Stockholm in this set. Those are product and delivery sentences. They are not a section 37 c ten-year instrument, and they are not a national offtake tariff.
- Customer contract (section 6) or producer access (sections 37–37 d)?
- Negotiated talk, regulated ten-year instrument, or named product?
- Prime heat on the supply pipe — or a residual-heat slide?
- Parent heat-reuse page last — it owns delivery states, not this statute.
What an offtake instrument actually is
An offtake instrument is a dated paper that says who must take heat, at which point, for how long, and at what compensation rule. The District Heating Act does not write a national data-centre tariff. Section 6 protects a customer who buys heat. A hall that only heats offices is on that paper. A hall that wants to sell residual heat is on the access paper. Mixing the two produces a slide that says “we have a heat contract” while the inbox is still a customer price list.
Regulated access is narrower than a slogan. It is prime heat on the supply pipe. It is not available if the plant is already or was previously connected for injection. The company can refuse if it shows a risk of harm, and it must then give written reasons. Compensation is the company’s benefit, not a hall’s avoided-electricity story. The applicant pays the connection investment. Ten years is the statutory term for that instrument. It is not Exergi’s product term and not GleSYS’s 2020 delivery-start date.
A voluntary product can sit beside the statute. Exergi’s Open District Heating pages are a utility product. They name Conapto in 2021 and a later Sätra recovery capacity of up to 10 megawatts. Those sentences do not reprint section 37 c. They do not prove a ten-year regulated instrument, and they do not travel to a municipality that has no spare winter load. Stockholm Data Parks remains a programme page. Ellevio in those materials remains a power partner, not a heat offtake.
Delivery is still a fourth state the parent already owns. GleSYS’s 1 October 2020 notice is a dated start of delivery to Falkenberg Energi. atNorth’s SWE01 page names heat recovery with Stockholm Exergi without a measured delivered year. EcoDataCenter’s Falun wording with Falu Energi & Vatten is a third municipal counterparty. A statute, a product page, a letter of intent and a delivery start remain four rows. Bidding areas SE1 to SE4 do not move a district-heat molecule.
What named primary sources show
The District Heating Act shows the section 6 customer list and the section 37 to 37 d access track, including prime heat, the previous-connection bar, the harm exception, the ten-year term, the applicant-paid connection, compensation equal to benefit, and the two-year dispute clock. Energimarknadsinspektionen’s district-heating pages show that it supervises the sector and restates the customer-information list. They do not publish a Swedish data-centre offtake tariff.
Exergi’s Open District Heating pages show a product, a 2021 Conapto sentence, a 30-to-70 °C heat-pump sentence and a Sätra ‘up to 10 MW’ recovery sentence. GleSYS 1 October 2020 shows a dated delivery start. atNorth SWE01 and EcoDataCenter Falun show named counterparties without a statutory ten-year cell. Those operator rows are not the Act.
A matrix instead of a heat-sale winner
The table is a permission table. A filled cell is a claim the named URL can carry. An empty cell means this page will not invent the missing ten-year instrument or the missing delivered megawatt-hour.
Do not treat section 37 c as Exergi’s product, and do not treat a 2020 delivery start as a regulated-access award.
| Source | What that URL can show | What this page will not invent |
|---|---|---|
| District Heating Act (2008:263) section 6 | Required contents of a customer heat contract | A hall heat-sale; a ten-year offtake |
| Same Act sections 37–37 d | Duty to negotiate; regulated access for prime supply-pipe heat; previous-connection bar; harm exception; ten-year term; applicant-paid connection; compensation = company benefit; Ei disputes within two years | That every Swedish hall qualifies; a national offtake price; residual heat as prime heat |
| Ei district-heating pages | Supervision; restated customer-information list | A data-centre tariff; a named hall award |
| Exergi Open District Heating | Product; 2021 Conapto sentence; ~30 °C to ~70 °C; Sätra up to 10 MW recovery capacity | A section 37 c instrument; a measured multi-year MWh ledger |
| GleSYS 1 October 2020 | Dated delivery start to Falkenberg Energi | A regulated-access award; a ten-year statutory term |
| atNorth SWE01 / EcoDataCenter Falun / Stockholm Data Parks | Named counterparties; a programme page; Ellevio as power partner | Delivered heat years; Ellevio as offtake |
Common misreads
The first misread is to treat section 6 as an offtake. A customer price, term and metering clause does not sell residual heat. The second is to treat section 37 as an automatic ten-year take-or-pay. Section 37 is a negotiation duty. Ten years sits in section 37 c, and only after the 37 a conditions. The third is to treat residual hall heat as prime supply-pipe heat. The statute names prime heat on the supply pipe. This page will not reclassify a 30 °C loop as that object.
The fourth is to paste Exergi’s Sätra ‘up to 10 MW’ onto a statutory ten-year cell. The fifth is to treat GleSYS’s 2020 delivery start as proof that every Swedish municipality must offtake. The sixth is to treat Ellevio or a bidding area as the heat buyer. Those are electricity objects.
What to ask next
If a brief says a Swedish hall has offtake, ask which named URL is a section 6 customer contract, a section 37 negotiation, a section 37 c instrument, a named product, or a dated delivery. If the URL only shows a valve or a climate slogan, the brief has left the source.
Then open the parent heat-reuse page and the district-heating page. Those pages already own delivery states and named municipal counterparties. This page only asks which instrument is in the file.
- Is the hall a heat customer or a heat seller?
- If selling, is the paper negotiated access, regulated access, a product or a delivery note?
- Does anyone claim prime supply-pipe heat without naming the temperature?
- Is compensation written as the company’s benefit, or as a hall slogan?
- Are the 2021 Conapto product sentence and the 2020 Falkenberg delivery still on two rows?
What this does and does not prove
This page proves that the District Heating Act separates a customer contract from a producer-access track, and that the regulated-access track is written with a ten-year term, a prime-heat limit and a benefit-based compensation rule. It proves that named Swedish product and delivery sentences sit beside that statute, not inside it.
It does not prove that any named Swedish hall holds a section 37 c instrument. It does not prove a national offtake price. It does not treat Open District Heating as the Act.
Empty cells stay empty. Until a later primary source names a hall, a statutory or product instrument, a date and a delivered year, the offtake stays a method, not a census.
Sources
- District Heating Act (2008:263) — Sveriges riksdag, 2008-05-22. Checked 2026-09-12.
- District heating — Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- District-heating companies’ information to customers — Energimarknadsinspektionen (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Sustainable solutions for data-hall energy via Open District Heating — Stockholm Exergi (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Heat recovery — Stockholm Exergi (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Sustainable solutions for data-hall energy via Open District Heating — Stockholm Exergi (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Stockholm Data Parks — Stockholm Data Parks, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Surplus energy from a new data center is transformed into district heating — GleSYS / Mynewsdesk, 2020-10-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- SWE01 Stockholm metro site — atNorth, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- EcoDataCenter 1, Falun — EcoDataCenter, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.