Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: ISO/IEC and CEN-CENELEC documents; Swedish operator publications
Standards and certification: PUE, WUE, REF and EN 50600 without a sales badge
A power-usage-effectiveness number on an operator page is a published figure. A standard is a document that says how to define, measure and report a figure. Those are different rows. The ISO catalogue page for ISO/IEC 30134-2:2016 still states that the document defines PUE, introduces measurement categories, and covers calculation, reporting and interpretation. The same catalogue family records withdrawal of that 2016 edition on 16 January 2026 and replacement by ISO/IEC 30134-2:2026. ISO’s data-centre KPI package names 30134-1 as the overview, 30134-2 as PUE and 30134-3 as renewable energy factor. ISO/IEC 30134-9 already sits in this site’s water guide as the WUE definition. CEN-CENELEC’s 2024 Green Data Centres brochure says EN 50600-2-2, 2-3 and 2-4 each define four design-availability levels, and that EN 50600-1 sets the overall availability level from the lowest of those three infrastructures. This page will not paste paid standard text, will not invent an Uptime Tier for a Swedish hall, and will not treat a design PUE of 1.2 as a certificate number.

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers who see PUE, WUE, REF or EN 50600 on a Swedish or Nordic operator page and need the document row behind the badge.
Reading order
Start with the ISO/IEC 30134-2:2016 catalogue abstract. It is the page that still states what PUE is: a ratio, with measurement categories, and with calculation, reporting and interpretation rules. Then read the withdrawal line on the same catalogue family. The 2016 edition is withdrawn on 16 January 2026 and replaced by ISO/IEC 30134-2:2026. This site does not have a paid copy of the 2026 text. The replacement date is a catalogue fact. It is not a licence to quote the new clauses.
Then open the ISO data-centre KPI package page. That page is the row that names 30134-1 as the overview, 30134-2 as PUE and 30134-3 as renewable energy factor. Do not open a random ISO number that happens to contain 30134-3 in another industry. The package page is the safe REF row. Then open ISO/IEC 30134-9, already used on the water-use guide, for WUE. Then open the two CEN-CENELEC Green Data Centres pages: the topic page and the 2024 EN 50600 brochure. The brochure is the row that states four design-availability levels for power supply and distribution, environmental control and telecommunications cabling, and that the overall level is the lowest of those three. It is an infrastructure design class. It is not a service-availability percentage.
Only after the document rows, open operator pages that publish a PUE. EcoDataCenter Falun says PUE 1.2 according to ISO — that is an operator sentence pointing at ISO, not a certificate number this page can fetch. atNorth SWE01 says design PUE 1.2. Meta Luleå says PUE 1.09. GleSYS Falkenberg also states 1.2. Those are published figures on named URLs. They are not EN 50600 class assignments, and they are not Uptime Tiers. This site has no fetched Uptime Institute landing page in the source registry for this wave, so this page will not assign a Tier to any Swedish hall.
- ISO 30134-2:2016 abstract and withdrawal / 2026 replacement first.
- ISO KPI package for 30134-1 / 30134-2 / 30134-3 (REF), then 30134-9 for WUE.
- CEN-CENELEC Green Data Centres topic page and 2024 brochure.
- Operator PUE sentences last — published figures, not certificates this page can invent.
What the documents separate
ISO/IEC 30134-2 is a key-performance-indicator standard for power usage effectiveness. The 2016 abstract says PUE is defined, that measurement categories exist, and that calculation, reporting and interpretation are in scope. It does not publish a Swedish hall’s PUE. It does not say that a design PUE and a measured PUE are the same number. A reader who sees ”PUE 1.2 according to ISO” on an operator page still has to ask whether the operator means the 2016 edition, the 2026 edition, a design value, or a measured value. This page cannot answer that from the catalogue abstract alone.
The 16 January 2026 withdrawal is a date on the ISO catalogue family. After that date the 2016 edition is not the current edition. This page records the date. It does not claim that every Swedish operator sentence published before that date became false on that date. It also does not claim that every sentence published after that date used the 2026 edition. Edition claims need the operator to name the edition.
ISO’s package page puts three numbers on one row: 30134-1 overview, 30134-2 PUE, 30134-3 renewable energy factor. REF is therefore a named ISO KPI in that package. This page will cite REF only from that package row. It will not open a different ISO catalogue number that is not a data-centre KPI. WUE is 30134-9 and already has a home on the water-use guide. This page only needs the reader to see that PUE, REF and WUE are sibling KPIs in the same family, not three spellings of the same ratio.
CEN-CENELEC’s 2024 brochure describes EN 50600 Availability Class as a design classification. EN 50600-2-2 sets four levels for the design availability of power supply and distribution. EN 50600-2-3 does the same for environmental control. EN 50600-2-4 does the same for telecommunications cabling. EN 50600-1 defines the overall availability level from the lowest of those three infrastructures. That rule matters because a hall can have a strong power class and a weaker telecommunications class; the brochure does not let the reader keep the higher number as the site class. The class is about infrastructure design. It is not a promise about the availability of a cloud service running in the hall. The Green Data Centres topic page is the wider family row. Neither page assigns Availability Class 3 or 4 to a named Swedish site.
Operator PUE sentences stay on their own row. EcoDataCenter Falun publishes PUE 1.2 according to ISO, next to campus figures that other guides already keep on separate rows (41, 65 and 80 megawatts are different rows). atNorth SWE01 publishes a design PUE of 1.2 next to 12 megawatts of site power. Meta Luleå publishes PUE 1.09 next to outdoor air and hydropower. GleSYS Falkenberg publishes 1.2. A design PUE is a design sentence. A published PUE without a measurement category is a published figure without a category. This page will not upgrade either sentence into an EN 50600 class or an Uptime Tier.
What named primary sources show
ISO/IEC 30134-2:2016 abstract shows the PUE definition, measurement categories, and calculation / reporting / interpretation scope. The catalogue family shows withdrawal on 16 January 2026 and replacement by ISO/IEC 30134-2:2026. The ISO data-centre KPI package shows 30134-1, 30134-2 and 30134-3 (REF) on one row. ISO/IEC 30134-9 shows WUE. CEN-CENELEC Green Data Centres and the 2024 brochure show the EN 50600 family and four design-availability levels with the lowest-of-three rule. Operator pages show published PUE figures. None of those rows is a Swedish certificate register.
A matrix instead of a badge score
The table is a permission table. A standard document can define a KPI. An operator page can publish a number. This page will not turn the second into a certificate of the first unless the named URL says so.
| Source | What that URL can show | What this page will not invent |
|---|---|---|
| ISO/IEC 30134-2:2016 abstract | PUE definition; measurement categories; calculation, reporting and interpretation in scope | A Swedish hall PUE; paid standard clauses; a claim that design PUE equals measured PUE |
| ISO 30134-2 catalogue family (withdrawal) | 2016 edition withdrawn 16 January 2026; replaced by ISO/IEC 30134-2:2026 | The text of the 2026 edition; a claim that every older operator PUE sentence is void |
| ISO data-centre KPI package | 30134-1 overview; 30134-2 PUE; 30134-3 REF on one package row | A REF figure for a named Swedish hall; a different ISO number as if it were 30134-3 |
| ISO/IEC 30134-9 | WUE definition already used on the water-use guide | A Swedish hall WUE invented from PUE; WUE as a spelling of PUE |
| CEN-CENELEC Green Data Centres + 2024 brochure | EN 50600 family; four design-availability levels for power, environmental control and telecommunications cabling; overall level = lowest of the three; infrastructure design not service availability | Class 3 or 4 assigned to a named Swedish hall; a cloud uptime percentage from the class number |
| EcoDataCenter Falun; atNorth SWE01; Meta Luleå; GleSYS Falkenberg | Published PUE 1.2 according to ISO (Falun); design PUE 1.2 (SWE01); PUE 1.09 (Luleå); 1.2 (Falkenberg) | An EN 50600 class; an Uptime Tier; a certificate number this page can fetch |
Common misreads
The first misread is to treat ”PUE 1.2 according to ISO” as a certificate ID. The operator sentence points at ISO. It does not publish a certificate number this page can retrieve, and it does not name the edition. The second is to treat a design PUE as a measured PUE. atNorth’s SWE01 sentence is a design sentence. A design value can sit next to a later measured value. This page has only the design sentence.
The third misread is to treat EN 50600 Availability Class as service uptime. The brochure’s lowest-of-three rule is about power, climate and telecom infrastructure design. It is not a percentage for a software service. The fourth is to invent an Uptime Tier because the reader has seen Tier language on other websites. This wave has no fetched Uptime Institute page in the registry. Empty stays empty. The fifth is to treat REF, PUE and WUE as one number. They are sibling KPIs. A hall can publish one and not the others. This page will not compute the missing two from the one that was published.
What to ask next
If a brief waves a badge, ask for the document number, the edition year, and whether the number is design or measured. If the brief says EN 50600 Class 3, ask which of the three infrastructure classes is Class 3 and which is lower. If the brief says Tier III, ask for a URL this site has fetched. If there is none, the Tier cell stays empty.
Then open the energy-efficiency page, the water-use page and the reporting page. A KPI definition is not a Swedish filing, and a filing is not a certificate.
- Is the sentence a KPI definition, a published operator figure, or a certificate ID?
- Which edition year is named — 2016, 2026, or none?
- For EN 50600, are power, climate and telecom classes all named?
- Has anyone used PUE, REF and WUE as if they were one ratio?
- No invented Uptime Tier.
What this does and does not prove
This page proves that ISO/IEC 30134-2 defines PUE, that the 2016 edition is withdrawn on 16 January 2026, that the ISO package names REF as 30134-3, that 30134-9 is WUE, and that EN 50600 Availability Class is an infrastructure design class with a lowest-of-three rule. It proves that named Swedish operator pages publish PUE figures.
It does not prove a Swedish hall’s EN 50600 class. It does not prove an Uptime Tier. It does not prove that a design PUE is a measured PUE. It does not paste paid standard text.
Empty cells stay empty. Until a later primary source names an edition, a measurement category and a certificate ID for a Swedish hall, the badge stays a pointer, not a register.
Sources
- ISO/IEC 30134-2:2016 — Data centres — Key performance indicators — Part 2: Power usage effectiveness (PUE) — ISO, 2016-04-01. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Data centre power usage effectiveness (PUE) package — ISO/IEC 30134-1, 30134-2 and 30134-3 — ISO (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- ISO/IEC 30134-9:2022 — Data centres key performance indicators — Part 9: Water usage effectiveness (WUE) — ISO, 2022-03-01. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Green Data Centres — CEN-CENELEC (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Energy Management and Environmental Viability of Data Centres — Standardization, edition 11 (2024) — CEN-CENELEC, 2024-01-01. Checked 2026-09-12.
- EcoDataCenter 1, Falun — EcoDataCenter, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- SWE01 Stockholm metro site — atNorth, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Welcome to Facebook Luleå Sweden — Meta Careers, 2013-06-12. Checked 2026-09-10.
- GleSYS Falkenberg data center — GleSYS, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.