Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: Sweden implementing Union reporting; not a hall scoreboard
Energy-performance reporting — the Swedish EED file
Is the hall inside the reporting duty, or have you only been handed a sustainability slide? Directive (EU) 2023/1791, Article 12, requires Member States to ensure that owners or operators of data centres with an installed IT power demand of at least 500 kW make energy-performance information publicly available. Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2024/1364 then writes the first-phase reporting scheme: operators at or above that 500 kW threshold communicate the Annex I and II information and key performance indicators to the European database. The Swedish Act (2025:570), which Energimyndigheten says entered into effect on 1 July 2025, requires the owner or manager of a data centre with an installed IT power demand of at least 500 kW to publish those figures by reporting them to that database. Energimyndigheten’s English page sets two 2026 clocks for the 2025 year: notification to the Agency by 27 April 2026, and reporting in the EU database by 15 May 2026. The public European database, the regulation says, publishes aggregated Member State and Union averages, not every hall’s litre or PUE. A reporting duty is not a measured Falun year and not a national sustainability score.

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers testing a reporting, PUE or WUE sentence against the Swedish EED file.
Reading order
Name the reporting object before you name a score. Act (2025:570) section 2 defines a data centre as a building or group of buildings used to house, connect and operate computer systems, servers and related equipment for storage, processing, distribution and related activity. Section 3 sets the duty at an installed IT power demand of at least 500 kW. That is an installed-IT-demand cell. It is not a commissioned campus megawatt, not a utility import and not a marketing envelope.
Then name the clock. Energimyndigheten’s page for the 2025 reporting year asks for notification — company name, registration number and a company email — to registrator@energimyndigheten.se by 27 April 2026, then EU-database reporting by 15 May 2026 covering the full year 2025. Companies that already notified keep their reference number. Those are Agency process dates. They are not a PUE measurement period chosen by a brochure.
Then name what becomes public. Energimyndigheten says reported data are available to the public in aggregated form at Member State and Union levels, following Annex IV of the delegated regulation. Individual hall figures in the database are not automatically a published Swedish league table. A reporting upload is not a measured operator PUE on a marketing page.
- Installed IT demand before a campus slogan.
- Notification clock versus reporting clock versus measurement year.
- Aggregated public averages versus a named hall.
- A duty is not a scoreboard.
What the reporting file actually contains
Delegated Regulation (EU) 2024/1364 is a reporting rule, not a Swedish efficiency contest. Article 1 sets the scope at an installed IT power demand of at least 500 kW. The annexes ask for energy use, water use, waste heat and whether the centre contributes grid services, among other cells. The WUE page already explains the Union formula WUE = W IN / E IT. The energy-efficiency page already explains why a PUE without a date and a boundary cannot choose a site. This page keeps those cells in the reporting folder.
Act (2025:570) section 4, as Energimyndigheten restates, excludes data centres used for security-sensitive activities under the Protective Security Act (2018:585), for defence or civil-contingency purposes, or where services are provided exclusively for such activities. Section 3 also says the reporting duty does not apply to information covered by secrecy under the Public Access to Information and Secrecy Act (2009:400). Those are statutory exclusions. They are not a marketing opt-out and not a reason to invent a hall’s numbers from a Union average.
Article 12.4 of the Directive encourages Member States to promote the latest EU Code of Conduct for Energy Efficiency in Data Centres for facilities with an installed IT power demand of at least 1 MW. That is an encouragement to consider best practice. It is not a Swedish statutory PUE cap. Energimyndigheten’s English page also notes a proposed amendment, still under consultation until 4 November 2025 when that page was read, tied to Article 26.6 of the Directive on waste-heat use for centres with a total energy supply above 1 MW. A consultation is not an in-force Swedish heat-reuse duty on this page.
Operator PUE sentences already in the register — atNorth SWE01 design 1.2, EcoDataCenter Falun 1.2 according to ISO, Meta Luleå 1.09 — remain operator figures from different years and methods. They do not prove that those halls have reported, or have not reported, under Act (2025:570). A report year and a marketing PUE are different rows.
What named primary sources show
The Directive, the delegated regulation, Act (2025:570) and Energimyndigheten’s Swedish and English reporting pages are the official papers on this page. The Commission energy-performance page remains the Union door. None of those sources, in the files used here, publishes a named Swedish hall’s 2025 report row.
Energimyndigheten’s process is specific: notify the Agency, create an EU Login with the same email, wait for a reference number, request access as a reporting-entity representative for Sweden, then upload. Previously registered companies do not notify again. That is Agency process. It is not a public register of which Swedish halls have filed.
Operator sustainability copy stays operator copy. GleSYS’s 2020 heat-delivery start, atNorth’s Exergi sentence and EcoDataCenter’s Falun recovery wording do not prove a 2025 Annex II heat cell. They do not replace the reporting year.
A matrix instead of a rating badge
Draw one page with duty states in rows and evidence in columns. Below 500 kW IT, at or above 500 kW, excluded under section 4, notified, reported and aggregated-public are different rows. Design PUE, measured PUE, Union report year and marketing slide are different columns. Empty cells stay empty.
Do not invent a Swedish hall league table from a Union average, from Meta’s 1.09 or from Energimyndigheten’s 15 May clock.
| Cell | What a source can show | What this page will not invent |
|---|---|---|
| 500 kW IT threshold | Directive Art. 12; Act 2025:570 § 3 | A campus MW converted into IT demand |
| 2025 report year | Energimyndigheten: notify 27 Apr 2026; report 15 May 2026 | A named hall upload |
| Public data | Aggregated Member State and Union averages | A Swedish PUE league table |
| 1 MW Code of Conduct | Directive Art. 12.4 encouragement | A statutory Swedish PUE cap |
Common misreads
The first misread is to treat a marketing PUE as proof that the hall has reported. The second is to treat a Union average as a named Swedish hall result. The third is to convert a campus or utility megawatt into the 500 kW IT cell without a source.
The fourth is to treat the 1 MW Code of Conduct sentence as a statutory cap. The fifth is to treat a consultation on waste heat as an in-force duty. The sixth is to treat a secrecy exclusion as a reason to invent the missing number from another hall.
What to ask next
Ask for the installed IT power demand, the reporting year, whether the operator has notified Energimyndigheten, and which Annex cells are design, measured or still empty. Ask whether any exclusion under section 4 is being claimed, and on which legal basis.
Then open the energy-efficiency page, the WUE page and the heat-reuse page. If the operator will not name the IT-demand cell or the report year, record the gap. Do not fill it from a Union average.
- Installed IT demand named and sourced.
- Report year and Agency clocks labelled.
- Design versus measured versus reported.
- Exclusion, if any, tied to section 4.
- No invented hall score from a Union average.
What this does and does not prove
This page proves that Swedish energy-performance reporting is a dated legal file with a 500 kW IT threshold, Agency clocks for the 2025 year, and aggregated public averages. It proves that the Directive, the delegated regulation, Act (2025:570) and Energimyndigheten publish that file.
It does not prove a Swedish PUE league. It does not publish a named hall’s 2025 upload. It does not treat a marketing efficiency figure as a report, and it does not treat a consultation as in-force law.
Unknown IT demand and unknown report status stay unknown. Point to the named source gap. Until a later primary source adds a dated Swedish hall report row, the duty stays a duty rather than a scoreboard.
Sources
- Directive (EU) 2023/1791 on energy efficiency (recast) — European Union, 2023-09-13. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2024/1364 — first phase of a common Union rating scheme for data centres — European Union, 2024-03-14. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Energy performance of data centres — European Commission, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Act (2025:570) on the disclosure of information on the energy performance of data centres — Sveriges riksdag, 2025-07-01. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Reporting the energy performance of data centres — Energimyndigheten (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Data centre energy performance reporting — Energimyndigheten (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- SWE01 Stockholm metro site — atNorth, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- EcoDataCenter 1, Falun — EcoDataCenter, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Welcome to Facebook Luleå Sweden — Meta Careers, 2013-06-12. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Surplus energy from a new data center is transformed into district heating — GleSYS / Mynewsdesk, 2020-10-01. Checked 2026-09-10.