Published 2026-09-12 · Event 2026-09-01
Fingrid’s Aurora Line 2 page is a 2026 grid study, not reserved northern-Sweden hall power

Fingrid’s Aurora Line 2 page writes a joint 400 kV planning study with Svenska kraftnät, expected to finish in 2026, and a printed about-1,000 MW interconnect figure both ways. A study year is not reserved offtake.
Fingrid’s English Aurora Line 2 project page is the dated planning source used here. It writes that Fingrid and Svenska kraftnät are jointly planning a new 400 kV alternating-current line from northern Finland to northern Sweden. The printed length is 350–400 kilometres. Commissioning is written as the mid-2030s. The line is written as increasing cross-border capacity by approximately 1,000 MW in both directions. That 1,000 MW figure is a printed interconnect rating. It is not reserved hall offtake in Sweden or Finland.
The study sentence must stay a study sentence. The two operators are written as having started a grid study to assess the benefits of the line and to determine the connection points. The study is written as expected to be completed in 2026. A 2026 study finish is not a route choice, not a concession and not a construction start.
The PCI sentence must stay a PCI sentence. Fingrid writes Project of Common Interest status on the 2023 and 2025 PCI/PMI lists, and calls the line the fourth alternating-current interconnection between Finland and Sweden. Svenska kraftnät’s PCI explainer lists Aurora Line 2 on the 2026–2027 list as that fourth 400 kV link, with planned commissioning in 2036. A PCI row is not a reserved megawatt on a Swedish campus.
Related grid notes stay on their own pages. Aurora Line 1’s November 2025 energisation, the government’s 8 May 2026 assignment to leave Aurora Line 2 out of Svenska kraftnät’s revised 2027–2029 investment plan, and the Fenno-Skan 3 and Konti-Skan Connect PCI rows are different dates and different instruments. This article does not treat a live Fingrid study page as that plan-exclusion, and it does not treat the exclusion as a cancellation of the study.
DataCenterSweden records 2026 as a Fingrid-and-Svenska kraftnät grid-study year for Aurora Line 2. No project identifier is attached. The next update would need a later primary source that names the 2026 study as published, chosen connection points, or a reserved consumption agreement beside the printed 1,000 MW. Until then, 1,000 MW stays a printed both-ways interconnect figure — not reserved northern-Sweden hall capacity.
Why it matters
A 1,000 MW Sweden–Finland headline is easy to file as spare northern hall power. The pages are usable only if 1,000 MW stays a printed interconnect figure and 2026 stays a study year — not a reservation.
What remains unknown
Neither page publishes the 2026 study, names the connection points or attaches a reserved hall offtake to the printed 1,000 MW.
Sources
- Aurora Line 2 — joint Finland–Sweden planning page — Fingrid (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- What is a PCI project? — Svenska kraftnät 2026–2027 list — Svenska kraftnät (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.