Published 2026-09-12 · Event 2026-05-12

Ellevio’s May 2026 Värmland notice is a raised injection cap, not hall offtake

Utility transformers and a web of overhead power lines against a clear sky.
Photo Alivia Alva on Unsplash

On 12 May 2026 Ellevio said the Värmland regional grid was reopening for new large establishments after a raised injection ceiling. A later snapshot dated 19 August 2026 keeps offtake and storage case by case. A production reopen is not a reserved hall.

Ellevio’s press notice dated 12 May 2026 is the dated reopen source used here. It says the Värmland grid is opening again for new large establishments. The notice names a raised injection ceiling from 1/3 MW to 3/10 MW and an added 150–200 MW toward 2029 on the Munkfors–Kil–Karlstad–Degerfors corridor. Injection is generation into the grid. It is not consumption by a hall.

The corridor sentence must stay a corridor sentence. The notice says the Karlstad leg is still required for the full unlock. Required is a project-dependency row. This article does not treat 150–200 MW as offtake already reserved for a named campus.

The later Värmland and Närke capacity page, snapshot 19 August 2026, keeps the split. Central Värmland is described as up to 10 MW of production. Western and northern parts are described as 3 MW. Eastern Värmland and Närke are case by case. Offtake and storage sit outside those production caps and remain case by case. Case by case is not a hall queue position.

Named neighbouring papers stay on their own files. Ellevio’s Dalarna and Gävleborg August widgets, the northern production-cluster page, Vattenfall’s June 2026 map and Svenska kraftnät’s connection-principles paper are different geographies. A Värmland reopen does not become those snapshots.

DataCenterSweden records 12 May 2026 as an Ellevio Värmland production-reopen notice, with the 19 August 2026 snapshot as a later status row. No project identifier is attached. The next update would need a later primary source that names a signed offtake, a storage contract or a commissioned injection. Until then, 3/10 MW stays an injection cap — not reserved hall capacity.

Why it matters

A reopen-for-establishments headline in Värmland is easy to file as hall power. The May notice is usable only if the raised cap stays injection — not offtake.

What remains unknown

No named datacentre customer appears on the press notice or the snapshot page. Remaining offtake headroom, station by station, is not stated as a single figure here.

Sources

  1. Ellevio — the grid reopens for new large establishments in Värmland Ellevio, 2026-05-12. Checked 2026-09-12.
  2. Ellevio — Värmland and Närke regional-grid capacity page Ellevio (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.