Published 2026-09-12 · Event 2025-09-02

EdgeMode’s 2 September 2025 Marviken paper is a three-year BESS MoU, not a battery rating

Close-up of a circuit board and electronic components.
Photo Alex Knight on Unsplash

On 2 September 2025 EdgeMode said it had signed a memorandum of understanding with Marviken ONE AB to expand data-centre and energy-storage operations in Marviken. The MoU runs three years and funds projects case by case. ESS News, writing on 4 September 2025, says EdgeMode did not specify the scale of the battery. An MoU is not an installed megawatt-hour.

ESS News on 4 September 2025 is the dated battery-MoU source used here. It says EdgeMode announced on Tuesday a memorandum of understanding with the Swedish energy-infrastructure company Marviken ONE AB. The arrangement is described as EdgeMode paying Marviken for use of its battery energy storage system and an associated energy-management system for an initial three years. Three years is a term. It is not a commissioning date.

Scale stays unpublished. ESS News writes that EdgeMode did not specify the scale of the BESS in question. The same report says EdgeMode believes energy storage will free up more grid capacity for its Marviken data centre and will fold the cost into fees for energy users at the site. Free up is the operator’s belief. It is not a reserved grid megawatt.

Funding and customers stay case-by-case. Under the terms, funding of any associated projects would be determined on a case-by-case basis. Chief executive Charlie Faulkner is quoted that target customers are enterprise tenants, particularly those running AI and HPC workloads, and that integrating BESS and EMS is designed to ensure greater power stability, operational flexibility and sustainability. Designed to is not an installed rating.

Named Marviken rows stay on their own papers. The May 2025 Synthesis acquisition notice, the December 2024 hall lease and the February 2025 grid-access addendum are different instruments. Twenty megawatts, 75 megawatts, 95 megawatts and a potential 300 megawatts stay on those papers. This MoU does not reprint them.

DataCenterSweden records 2 September 2025 as a Marviken BESS memorandum of understanding. No project identifier is attached. The next update would need a later primary source that names a battery rating, a grid reservation or an installed system. Until then, three years and case-by-case stay MoU words — not a campus battery megawatt.

Why it matters

A campus-battery headline next to Marviken’s grid papers is easy to file as installed storage. The September MoU is usable only if the rating stays unpublished.

What remains unknown

Neither the MoU report nor the fetched companion publishes a BESS megawatt, a megawatt-hour or an installed commissioning date.

Sources

  1. On-site battery will make Swedish data center more attractive ESS News, 2025-09-04. Checked 2026-09-12.