Editorial review 2026-09-12 · Jurisdiction: Sweden — energy declarations as explained by Boverket
An energy declaration is not a climate declaration — Act 2006:985 is a later paper
Must a Swedish hall already hold an energy declaration because someone said “Boverket’s register”, or because Act (2006:985) actually covers that building on a named occasion? Boverket’s page on buildings that must be declared, used here, writes four occasions: when buildings are new; when the floor area is larger than 250 square metres and 250 square metres are often visited by the public; when buildings are let with a right of use; and when buildings are sold. Section 4 says the person who erects, or lets someone erect, a building for their own account shall see to it that a declaration exists. Section 5 says the owner shall always have one if the building is owned by a public body, has a total usable floor area over 250 square metres that is often visited by the public, or is let — in whole or in part — with a right of use. Section 6 says the owner shall see to a declaration before a building or a share in a building is sold. Section 6 b, as Boverket quotes it, says a declaration may be used for ten years. Boverket writes that a new building let with a right of use shall have a declaration when the first tenant or tenant-owner moves in, and that certain other new buildings shall be declared at latest two years after first use — Boverkets föreskrifter (2007:4) section 6. Buildings not heated above ten degrees need not be declared. Ordinance (2006:1592) section 2, as Boverket’s exemption page last changed 23 April 2025 reprints it, lists seven exemptions including industrial plants and workshops. Boverket’s general advice under BFS 2007:4 section 3 says the main activity decides that exemption: if more than half of the temperature-controlled area (Atemp) is manufacturing, the building may fall under the exemption; if more than half is offices, heated storage or similar with no manufacturing, it does not. The whole building is declared if the duty applies. The climate-declaration page already owns Act (2021:787) and the slutbesked gate. EKL reporting already sits on its own page. Boverket also quotes a later section 4 a on a reconstruction that covers a significant part of the climate envelope, with a wording change from 1 January 2027. That is a renovation clock on Boverket’s page. It is not a datorhall class this register will invent. Microsoft’s 16 November 2021 note names Gävle, Sandviken and Staffanstorp. EcoDataCenter names Falun. Google names Horndal. atNorth’s 23 February 2026 SWE04 note names Sollefteå. evroc’s 3 February 2025 note names Arlandastad. None of those pages is an energy declaration, a climate declaration or a reserved megawatt. This is orientation, not counsel.

General orientation. Assess the specific project separately. Applies to: Readers placing an energy-declaration, industrial-exemption or Boverket-register sentence on a Swedish hall file.
Reading order
Seat the occasion before any register slogan. Write whether the object is a new building, a public-visit threshold, a right of use, a sale, or only a brochure sentence — before you say the hall “must have an energy declaration.”
Then keep the industrial-use test on its own row. Ordinance section 2 names industrial plants and workshops. Boverket’s general advice measures actual activity as a share of Atemp. A plan letter that says “industry” is not that measurement. This page will not invent a datorhall class from the workshop exemption.
Then keep neighbouring papers on later rows. A climate declaration under Act 2021:787 is a construction-stage paper with a slutbesked gate. EKL reporting is another desk. Boverket’s quoted section 4 a is a later renovation clock, with a 1 January 2027 wording change. None of those objects is this declaration.
Then keep named project rows as geography. Microsoft, Falun, Horndal, SWE04 Sollefteå and evroc Arlandastad stay operator papers. This register does not publish an energy declaration for those cadastral units.
- Four occasions: new, public visit, right of use, sale.
- The workshop exemption measures actual Atemp share, not a plan letter.
- A climate declaration is another law and another gate.
- Ten years of validity is not a hall energy class.
What a duty, an exemption and a ten-year paper actually measure
The duty measures a named occasion and a named person. Section 4 is the person who erects. Section 5 is the owner on three standing tests. Section 6 is the seller. A press note that a campus “opened” is not that occasion.
The exemption measures listed building types and, for industry and workshops, the main activity as a share of Atemp. Boverket writes that other buildings on the same site with another main activity may still need a declaration. Owner-occupation of an industrial plant is a further Boverket sentence on that page. None of those tests is a data-hall chapter.
Validity measures ten years. Boverket writes that owners of owner-occupied houses need not declare again until sale. Buildings over 250 square metres that are often visited by the public, and buildings let with a right of use, shall always have a valid declaration. Those are standing clocks. They are not a PUE certificate.
Boverket’s new-building steps measure a certified energy expert, registration in Boverket’s energy-declaration register, and a later municipal check of the primary-energy figure under BBR section 9:25. That municipal desk is still not the climate-declaration desk.
What named primary sources show
Act (2006:985) remains the statutory paper for sections 4, 5, 6 and 6 b. Ordinance (2006:1592) remains the exemption list. Boverket’s “must be declared” and “need not be declared” pages remain the dated national commentary, including the four occasions, the ten-year sentence, the two-year new-building clock and the Atemp test.
The climate-declaration page remains the neighbouring 2021 construction-stage desk. The EKL page remains the reporting desk. Named operator rows remain geography.
No cited source here publishes a project-specific hall energy declaration or a reserved hall megawatt created by treating a workshop exemption as a datorhall class.
A matrix instead of one register slogan
Draw one page with object rows and evidence columns. The occasion, the industrial Atemp test, the ten-year paper, a climate declaration, an EKL report and a named campus town are different columns. Empty cells stay empty.
Do not invent a hall energy class from the workshop exemption. Those remain method facts from dated Boverket pages.
| Object | What a source can show | What this page will not invent |
|---|---|---|
| Energy-declaration duty | Act 2006:985: new / public visit / right of use / sale | A climate declaration |
| Industrial exemption | Ordinance 2006:1592 § 2; Boverket: main activity as Atemp share | A datorhall class |
| Ten-year paper | Section 6 b: usable for ten years | A PUE certificate |
| Climate declaration | Already owned on its own 2021 page with a slutbesked gate | This 2006 paper |
| Named campus town | Microsoft 16 Nov 2021; Falun; Horndal; SWE04 23 Feb 2026; Arlandastad 3 Feb 2025 | A registered hall declaration |
Common misreads
The first misread is to treat a climate declaration as this paper. They are different laws and different gates. The second is to treat a plan letter that says “industry” as the workshop exemption. Boverket measures actual Atemp share. The third is to invent a datorhall class from that exemption.
The fourth is to treat a campus opening note as the first-tenant clock. The fifth is to treat the ten-year sentence as a PUE certificate. The sixth is to collapse this page into EKL reporting. The seventh is to treat Boverket’s quoted section 4 a as already a hall renovation class.
What to ask next
Ask which dated paper anyone is quoting — a new-building duty, a right-of-use clock, a sale paper, an industrial Atemp test or only a register slogan — and which building it names. Ask whether a climate declaration has been treated as this paper. Ask who is written as the person who erects and who as the owner.
Then open the climate-declaration page, the EKL page, the startbesked page and the building-permits hub. If the operator will not name the occasion and the date, record the gap. Do not fill it from a workshop slogan. This page is not legal advice.
- Is the paper a new-building, letting, sale or public-visit duty — or only a slogan?
- Which building and which Atemp split does it name?
- Has a climate declaration been treated as this 2006 paper?
- Has a plan letter been treated as the workshop exemption?
- Has a campus town been treated as a registered declaration?
What this does and does not prove
This page proves that Boverket already publishes an energy-declaration duty with four occasions, a ten-year paper and an industrial exemption measured as actual Atemp share — and that those facts are not a reserved hall megawatt.
It does not prove that a named Swedish hall holds a registered declaration. It does not invent a datorhall class. It does not treat a campus press note as an energy declaration.
Empty cells stay empty. Until a later primary source names the building, the occasion and the dated paper, the energy-declaration clock stays a method, not a census. DataCenterSweden records the method.
Sources
- Act (2006:985) on energy declarations for buildings — Sveriges riksdag, 2006-06-21. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Ordinance (2006:1592) on energy declarations for buildings — Sveriges riksdag, 2006-12-20. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Boverket — About energy declarations — Boverket (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Boverket — Buildings that must have an energy declaration — Boverket (publication date not stated). Checked 2026-09-12.
- Boverket — Buildings that need not have an energy declaration — Boverket, 2019-01-03. Checked 2026-09-12.
- Microsoft opens its sustainable datacenter region in Sweden — Microsoft, 2021-11-16. Checked 2026-09-10.
- EcoDataCenter 1, Falun — EcoDataCenter, 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-10.
- Horndal, Sweden – Google Data Center Location — Google Data Centers, 2026-09-01. Checked 2026-09-11.
- New 300MW mega site in Sollefteå, Sweden — atNorth, 2026-02-23. Checked 2026-09-11.
- evroc finalizes land purchase in Arlandastad, Stockholm — evroc, 2025-02-03. Checked 2026-09-10.